Posted in Checking Stuff Out

Impromptu Borders Run

Deciding to take full advantage of having some much-needed mommy time, I popped into the only remaining Borders in the South Bay (insert tears) to check out their always tempting Bargain Books section.  I usually end up not buying anything, telling myself that I can get the same thing for FREE at my local public library, but today I was feeling good, having just ingested a Trenta Iced Tea from Starbucks, and picked up a couple of items.

I was delighted to find the sequel to the current book I’m reading for only $4.99…just two dollars more than the iced tea I just gulped down.  I probably won’t get to the book for while, seeing as how my “must-read” list has an unusual number of books before it, but that’s the beauty of owning it:  it’s not due in three weeks, therefore I can let it sit on my shelf for three months and not have to worry about handing $.25 over to my local public library.

And then I found this…

…which I highly DO NOT recommend, as it involves Dora the Explorer, a girl whose constant yelling about which bridge she should take to get to the Green Mountain is about as comforting as a bed made of fire.  But I do have a three-year-old daughter, a girl who thinks Dora is some kind of geographical genius, and the fact that in this particular book Dora is wearing a freaking CROWN on her head, well, I could only imagine the look on my daughter’s face.  Pure and utter joy.  Plus it was only $1.99, a dollar less than my iced tea, so…what the hell.

Whenever I’m at Borders, I usually get the iced tea they sell in their cafe, which happens to be from Seattle’s Best Coffee.  Now, I don’t know if their coffee really is the best, but I do enjoy their iced tea.  A lot.  So much that I’ve even rated them above Starbucks, even though Starbucks is my drink of choice on a daily basis (only because it’s more convenient).  Maybe it’s because I don’t drink Seattle’s Best everyday that I prefer it…or maybe it’s because whenever I’m drinking Seattle’s Best, I’m also looking at books, therefore making the tea that much more enjoyable.  Whatever the reason, if you find yourself inside one of the few remaining Borders stores on a really hot day, get the iced tea.  And please, for the love of dentists, do not put any sweetener in it.  It adds unnecessary calories to the tea, not to mention cuts down on all the healthy stuff in there (actually, I don’t know if that’s true…I just made that up.  But it might.).  And to me the sweetened tea doesn’t taste as refreshing.  But…to each his own.

Happy drinking!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

