Posted in Drinking Tea

Tea of the Week – British Edition

So…my original plan was going to be to introduce a new tea every week.  It has, however, been two weeks since I’ve even mentioned the word tea.  I wish I could say that I was totally busy and just didn’t have the time, but that’s not really the case.  I blame The Doctor.

Seriously, my husband and I have been watching episodes of Doctor Who every night.  We’ve gone through one and a half seasons in just over a week, and now we’re all caught up just in time for the rest of season premiering this Saturday.  Why this sudden interest in The Doctor?  Not sure.  I just decided to watch the first episode of season 5 – the first season with the Eleventh Doctor (don’t ask me to explain the evolution of The Doctors; just go with it) – and was hooked after about five minutes.  After watching 20 episodes of Matt Smith as The Doctor, Karen Gillan as Amy Pond, and Arthur Darvill as Rory, I’ve decided that Doctor Who is currently the best show on television.

BUT…I’m not here to talk about my latest television obsession.  I’m here to talk about tea!  And in honor of Doctor Who and all it’s Britishness, I’m going to tell you about a tea that’s also full of Britishness: Earl Grey.

Earl Grey is a black tea that contains oil extracted from the rind of the bergamot orange, and named after the British Prime Minister in the 1830s.  There are different ways of preparing Earl Grey tea, for example, the “Lady Grey”, made with lemon and Seville orange in addition to bergamot.  And then there’s the “London Fog”, a combination of Earl Grey, steamed milk, and vanilla syrup.

And since we’re talking about tea, there are obviously some benefits to drinking Earl Grey.  Black tea itself is known to contain antioxidants, while bergamot is said to be a potent nervine enhancer (helps the nervous system), although if you add milk you do reduce the strength of the benefits.  What else can Earl Grey do?  Well, how about this:

  • Earl grey tea may help enhance the immune system and fight viruses that cause coughs, colds and flu.
  • Earl grey tea may help protect against cancer.
  • Earl grey tea may help protect against certain cardiovascular diseases.
  • Earl grey tea may help fight insomnia.
  • Earl grey tea may help induce relaxation and fight anxiety.
  • Earl grey tea may help fight depression and uplift the mood.
  • Earl grey tea may aid in proper digestion.
  • Earl grey tea may help in fighting inflammation.
And, above all else, Earl Grey tea is very British, and we all know that British things are very cool.  So if you’re ever in the mood to drink some tea and feel a little British, put some water on the stove and pour yourself a cup of Earl Grey tea.  And have a biscuit.  You’ll be instantly cool.
Happy drinking!  Cheerio!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

