Posted in Reading Books

Comfort Reading

If you’ve read my blog before, you know that I love reading young adult literature.  Especially ones of the paranormal romance kind.  But sometimes I get to the point where if I have to read about one more vampire, werewolf, witch, faerie, angel, or shapeshifter, I’m gonna go crazy.  Like when you’re eating pancakes and you suddenly get to that fifth one and realize that if you eat it, you’re going to puke.  You need to just stop and eat something else.  Or, in this case, stop with the paranormal stuff and pick up a different kind of book.

This is what’s happening to me right now (not the pancake thing.  Pancakes actually sound kinda good right now).  I was at the library yesterday perusing the teen lit section, and after passing by more than a dozen books I’ve wanted to read, I realized that none of them sounded good to me.  I mean, they sounded good…but not good right now.  So I put down the faerie book I was holding and headed over to the children’s books.

Now, there’s a very good reason why teen lit doesn’t appeal to me at the moment besides just plain overdosing on it.  It’s October now, which means it’s fall, and it’s at this time of year when I get UBER homesick.  Being originally from the Midwest where they get actual seasons and now living in Southern California where seasons only come in the form of awards shows or Laker games, you can understand why I get homesick this time of year.

And when I’m homesick, I tend to revert to things that remind me of my childhood.  Like children’s books.  But not just any children’s books.  Old children’s books.  Like ones written in the 40s and 50s.  Why?  Well, I guess I just like reading about simpler times, back when kids actually played, as opposed to the texting and Facebooking and video gaming they do now.  Reading about simpler times is a great comfort to me, and helps me deal with my homesickness (until I walk outside in the middle of October and it’s 80 degrees outside when it should be cool and crisp and smell like campfires).

I ended up checking out two old timey books: Eleanor Estes’ The Moffats and The Middle Moffat.  I’ve heard of these books before, but I’ve never read them.  So I figure now is the perfect time.  They were written in the 1940s, which means they’re full of kids doing 1940s-type things.  In fact, this is what caught my eye in the fist place.

Really old cover!

And then my discovery got better….

First edition!

And then this sealed the deal…

Squee!

I love when the old check out card thingys are still in the books.  And look, people had been checking this book out since 1968!  Just think of the other people who held this book before me!  I wonder if the person who had to bring it back by June 21, 1969 was able to avoid a late fee.

The first Moffats book I checked out was also old, but not a first edition.  It’s from 1969, and it didn’t have a check out card thingy in it.  But I’m sure it still holds lots of history.  That alone makes me almost able to deal with the fact that it’s October 1 and 79 degrees and sunny outside.

So give me a week or so to read these books, and I’m sure after that I’ll be back to my teen lit ways.  But until then, I need to be comforted.  And if reading about kids who’s biggest issue was how big to build the go-cart, or how many cupcakes to make for the birthday party, then I’m totally cool with that.

Next up:

The ultimate in comfort reading.

But more about Betsy and Tacy later.  Until then…Happy (comfort) reading!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

3 thoughts on “Comfort Reading

Leave a Reply

