Posted in Catching TV, Watching Movies

Need a Good Cry?

Well, originally this particular post was going to be about books that have made me cry…until I realized that only two books have made me cry, and that’s Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Dumbledore dies) and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Snape dies).  So I really can’t write a whole post about only two books (well, I suppose I could, but that wouldn’t be very exciting for the reader…unless of course those two very same things also made you cry).

So I’ve decided that since more movies and TV shows (yes, TV…get over it) have made my eyes well up, I’ll write about that.  Plus I’m sure more readers can relate since more people have seen movies than read the books I’ve read (though I don’t want to meet the person who hasn’t read Harry Potter).  And I promise you I will NOT mention The Notebook or any other Nicholas Sparks movie because, well, they’re just obnoxious.

Movie: Dead Poets Society (1989)

Tissue Moment: As with most movies that have made me cry, there are more than one defining moment.  But you’d have to be a robot if you didn’t at least tear up when Ethan Hawke, in his most defining moment ever, stands up on top of his desk and says “O Captain, My Captain” to just ousted teacher Robin Williams.  You’re waiting the entire movie for Ethan to grow a spine, and when it does, it’s perfect.  And when the rest of the class joins in on top of their desks, well, just hand me that freaking tissue.

Movie: Moulin Rouge (2001)

Tissue Moment: Yes, it is sad when Satine (Nicole Kidman) dies at the end (spoilers!).  Even though we knew the entire time that she dies, it’s still pretty depressing.  But that’s not what made me cry.  No, I blame all my tears on Ewan McGregor and John Leguizamo.  There’s a scene where Christian (McGregor) has pretty much given up all hope ever since Satine told him that she didn’t want to have anything to do with him.  He’s sitting in bed, looking horrible, and Toulouse (Leguizamo) sits on his bedside and says:

“You may see me only a drunken, vice-ridden gnome whose friends are just pimps and prostitutes.  But I know about art and love…if only because I long for it with every fiber of my being.  She loves you.  I know it.  I know she loves you.”

And then Christian tells him to go away.  Yells it, actually, and you can see the pain in Toulouse’s face.  It’s heartbreaking.  The whole freaking scene is heartbreaking, and it makes me cry every single time.

Movie: Field of Dreams (1989)

Tissue Moment: At the end of the movie, after Kevin Costner has come to grasp the fact that old, dead baseball players are playing baseball in his cornfield, his dead father appears in his old baseball uniform.  If you’ve been paying attention to the movie, you know that Kevin Costner’s character didn’t have the best relationship with his father, and that he always regretted not have that one moment with him.  Well, that moment has arrived.  His father – not knowing that he’s talking to his future son – asks Costner:

Is this heaven?”

No.  It’s Iowa.”

And maybe you giggle a little when he says that.  But then as his father begins to turn away, you think, “Wait!!!  You have to say something else – that’s your father!!!”  Well, don’t worry, he does.

“Hey…Dad?  You wanna have a catch?”

“I’d like that.”

OH SHIT GIVE ME A GODDAMN TISSUE.

*Side note:  I just watched this scene again on You Tube, thinking I could handle it.  Couldn’t.

TV Show: Friends

Episode: The One the Morning After (1997) aka “The One Where Ross and Rachel Break Up”

Tissue Moment: Friends has undoubtedly made me laugh all the time during its ten-year run.  I watch reruns now and still laugh.  But it’s also made me cry like a freaking baby.  Like when Ross and Rachel break up.  The episode has lots of funny moments, but the great moments come from the amazing acting and dialogue by David Schwimmer and Jennifer Aniston.  The rest of the cast is “listening in” on the breakup in the other room, and we the audience get to witness it firsthand, and it’s so real that it actually feels like these two are breaking up right in front of us in real life.

“I can’t imagine my life without you…without…without these arms…and this face and this heart…your good heart…”

No…I can’t.  You’re a totally different person to me now.  I used to think of you as somebody who would never, ever hurt me.  Ever…it’s just changed everything.  Forever.”

It’s rare when you find yourself caring about TV characters that much.   It doesn’t happen that often, but after that episode I felt horribly depressed. Thanks, Friends.  Thought you were a funny show.

Movie: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2009)

Tissue Moment: Did I mention Dumbledore dies?

*Side note:  He does.

Movie: Little Women (1994)

Tissue Moment: Well, duh.  Beth dies.  That part is really sad, and yes, it makes me cry most of the time.  But it’s Laurie, played by Christian Bale, that makes me cry the most.  He’s just told Jo how he feels about her, that he loves her and wants to marry her, and Jo stupidly turns him down. Laurie is obviously hurt by this, and while tries to hold his tears back, he says this:

“Someday you’ll find a man, a good man, and you’ll love him, and marry him, and live and die for him. And I’ll be hanged if I stand by and watch.”

Man, that’s such a good line.  And it’s Christian Bale.  Crying.  Of course I’m going to cry along with him.  While I’m yelling out, “Forget Jo!  She’s an idiot!  I’ll marry you!”  Sniffle sniffle.

TV Show: Gilmore Girls

Episode: The Incredible Shrinking Lorelais

Tissue Moment: We’ve all had meltdowns, but I loved the honestly of Lorelai Gilmore’s meltdown to will they/won’t they friend Luke Danes.  In this episode, best friends/ mother & daughter Lorelai and Rory haven’t spoken to each other in days, and if you know this show, that just doesn’t happen.  The lack of contact has taken a toll on both of them, but it’s Lorelai’s moment that really makes my heart hurt.

“I just thought I had everything under control, but I didn’t and the inn is just falling apart. This has been my dream forever and I have it and it’s here and I’m failing and I can’t handle it, I just spend every minute running around and working and thinking and I thought I would have help but Sookie has Davey and Michel has Celine and I’m… I can’t do it all by myself! And I don’t even have time to see my kid anymore, hell forget see her, just even talk to her and I miss her. And I sat there in my parents’ house just listening to my grandma basically call me a charity case and I couldn’t even argue with her, I couldn’t even say anything, because I am, I’m running out of money! And I was going to ask you for $30,000 at dinner tonight, that’s how pathetic I am.”

*Side note: Gilmore Girls is my favorite show of all-time, and there are tons of sad moments in it.  This doesn’t do it justice.

Movie: Good Will Hunting (1997)

Tissue Moment: Matt Damon cries.  A lot.  All because some hairy guy named Sean (Robin Williams) forces Will (Damon) to admit that none of what’s happened to him during his entire, crappy life is not his fault.  This causes Will, after trying to act cool about the whole thing, to bawl like a newborn, along with everyone else that’s watching the movie.

“It’s not your fault.  It’s not your fault.  It’s not your fault.  It’s not your fault.  It’s not your fault.”

Movie: Beauty and the Beast (1991)

Tissue Moment: The Beast dies.  Granted this movie has a happy ending because the Beast comes back to life as a human, but at that moment before that all happens, just watch Belle’s face.  She’s devastated.  She comes to realize that she’s totally in love with the Beast, only to have him die in her arms.  And that music you hear in the background?  It’s so beautiful and haunting and sad that it ties in perfectly to the scene.  Amazing.

Movie: Serenity (2005)

Tissue Moment: In this movie spin-off of the amazing TV show Firefly, Zoe’s husband Wash, in true Joss Whedon “I-love-to-kill-off-favorite-characters”, has just been impaled by a massive spike that shot through the windshield of the ship he was piloting.  Normal people would break down and cry and scream if this happened to their husband.  But not Corporal Zoe Washburne.  Being a true soldier, she keeps a straight face and continues on, as they’re all currently being attacked by reavers.  She knows that if she stops for one moment it puts her and the rest of the crew in danger.  It’s so true to her character and heartbreaking at the same time that my throat always closes up during the scene.

“Zoe, are you here?”

“To the job, sir.”

Movie: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001)

Tissue Moment: Frodo realizes he must go on without his friends.  He’s standing at the edge of the lake, holding the ring in his hand, and he hears Gandalf’s voice in his head, which is sad, because he thinks Gandalf is dead.  When he realizes that he has to continue on his journey to destroy the ring but he doesn’t want to put his friends in danger, he tries to leave without anyone seeing.  Until good ol’ Samwise Gamgee spots him and runs faster than he ever has in his life to catch him, even jumps in the water even though it’s well known that Hobbits are afraid of water, and swims to catch up to his best friend and master.  Frodo tells him to go home, Sam refuses, and then almost drowns until Frodo grabs him and pulls him up into the boat.  Lots of crying is happening.

“I made a promise, Mr Frodo.  A promise. ‘Don’t you leave him Samwise Gamgee.’  And I don’t mean to. I don’t mean to.”

Oh, geez.  They’re crying, I’m crying…it’s just a big ol’ mess.

So if you’re ever in need of a good cry, here’s some options for you.  Just make sure you have a big box of tissue with you.

Happy crying!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

One thought on “Need a Good Cry?

Leave a Reply

