Posted in Watching Movies

The Madness of Movie Premieres

You may have noticed all the hoopla lately about the movie premiere for the much-awaited penultimate Twilight saga, Breaking Dawn: Part 1.  Fans had started camping out a week in advance for the opportunity to catch a glimpse of their favorite movie stars, and while that may sound totally insane to some (seriously, a week?), crazier things have happened in this world.

The reason I’m defending these people (well, some of them) is simple: I was once one of them.  That’s right!  This completely sane and witty girl attended a movie premiere five years ago, and I lived to tell the tale.  Of course I didn’t camp out for days, but I did wait for 16 hours for the freaking premiere to begin.  And I wasn’t even there to see the movie.  I was just there to see people arrive at the movie.  Yes, it sounds a little nutso, but it was actually a lot of fun.

Back in June of 2006, my husband and I, plus our friend Jennifer attended the premiere for Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest (as seen in the above picture).  It took place at Disneyland, the home of the famous ride, and was expected to be the biggest premiere of the summer.  We knew we were going to have to get there early, so we got there at 6:30 a.m., and while there were already a ton of people there, we luckily found a place on the red carpet in front of Sleeping Beauty’s Castle.

That would be my foot touching the actual red carpet.

We had such good seats that we knew we wouldn’t be able to leave our post all day, especially given the amount of people that were still coming in.  So we played some games of trivia, read magazines, and just sat there while the city of Anaheim got hotter and hotter and hotter.

It was impossible to stay cool.

But the fact that it was 96 degrees did not deter my determination to see three of my favorite actors: Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom, and Keira Knightley.  Actually, if you were ask me that day, my main focus was seeing Keira Knightley.  I loved her, even named my daughter after her (of course my daughter wouldn’t arrive for another two years, but you get the point), and I was determined to get a picture with her!  Yes, again, crazy.  But when was I going to get another chance to do this?

Yep…all crazy.

After about ten – yes, TEN – hours of waiting, some B-list actors finally began to arrive at the red carpet.  Not stars of the movie, just random people there to promote themselves and to get their picture in some magazine for attending the biggest premiere of the summer.  And when I say “there to promote themselves”, I’m talking about total unknown actors who need a publicity event like this to try get noticed.

This actor’s name is Christian Slater.

And it was nice to see Rosanne Barr get dressed up for the occasion.

Of course I was trying to get whatever autographs I could.  Not because I really wanted them, but because, well, I just could.  I just held my journal out to them, which was easy since I was in the front row, and they would just scribble their name in illegible handwriting.

Jennifer Love Hewitt, however, totally blew my off.  I wasn’t surprised.  Witch.

I was excited to see Michelle Trachtenberg from Buffy the Vampire Slayer, but she ignored me when I yelled out “Dawn!”

Apparently she doesn’t respond to her character’s name.

I wasn’t too excited about seeing dancers from Dancing with the Stars, but when this chick literally came right over to where we were standing, I sort of had to give her something to sign.  I mean, she was so eager.

Um…hi…I’m a…big fan?

A little while later Cat Deeley from So You Think You Can Dance walked by.  I yelled out “Brummie!” because, as everyone knows, she’s from Birmingham, England, and they’re affectionally known as “Brummies”.  She ignored me.

Or maybe she simply didn’t hear me.

The later it got, the better the guests were.  For example, as soon as the sun started going down, this kid walked by:

The future Zac Efron.  I think I was the only one who had actually seen High School Musical at that time.

And then Tia Carerre walked by, and I got slightly upset that she was 40 years old and looked so damn good.

I would say “Schwing”, but that would just be weird.

It wasn’t until around 8:00 pm when I finally saw the first big star of the Pirates movie arrive, and it was the biggie.  I spotted the namesake of my future child!

You’d be surprised to learn that she’s quite skinny in person.

Well, I noticed that she was headed right for us, and I began to get nervous.  How the hell was I going to ask her for a picture with me when all these other people around me were screaming for her?  Well, luckily I had my husband and Jennifer were there with me, because they totally got her attention and asked her for the picture.  The outcome?

Please ignore the freakshow on the left.

I was so excited and slightly delirious – I mean, it had been almost 16 hours – that I must have sounded like a nutcase when the director Gore Verbinski stopped by to talk to us.  He asked us how long we had been waiting, and I totally blurted out “16 hours!” like a total crazy person.  And if you have the Dead Man’s Chest DVD that came with 2 discs, watch the segment about the premiere on the Special Features disc.  Because it shows Gore Verbinski asking a crazy fan – ME – how long she had been waiting.  And it shows that crazy fan – ME – totally blurting out “16 hours!” like a total crazy person.

I’ve been forever immortalized on disc 2 of Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest.

Well, I bet you’re waiting to hear about how I met Johnny Depp and Orlando Bloom.  Well, unfortunately I don’t have much to tell you.  I saw Johnny Depp, and when my friend called out his name, he bowed to us.

Because what else would Johnny Depp do?

But it was because of this bow that I missed Orlando Bloom.  Yep, totally missed him, didn’t even see him.  My favorite character from my favorite movie (elf, not pirate) and he might as well have not even been at the premiere, because I didn’t see him.  I was kinda upset.

But I got over it when I remembered that I had a picture with Keira Knightley in my camera.  Totally worth it.

It was my first and probably last premiere I’ll go to.  Unless, of course, some miracle happens and I’m able to go to The Hobbit premiere in Wellington, NZ, then I’m totally there.  But of all premieres I could have attended, I think I picked a pretty damn good one.  Even though we waiting for 16 hours in 96 degree heat, I have no regrets.

Happy premiere week, Twilight!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

2 thoughts on “The Madness of Movie Premieres

  1. Diane, I remember when you told us about going to the premiere. I was so envious of you for getting to go. I think the closest I have ever come to a premiere was going to Toronto, Canada when LOTR: Return of the King came out. Jo, myself and our friend Shandra went. It was awesome.

    The longest I have ever stood in line for a movie was when Episode I came out for Star Wars. I waited in line for 26 hours and bought myself 3 tickets. This was before the days of Fandango which takes all that standing in line to buy the ticket out of the equation.

    I wish/hope/pray that I would have to money to go to The Hobbit premiere in Wellington. Maybe I’ll win the lottery and then we can all go together!!

    Thanks for sharing this.

    1. That’s so funny, I just told someone tonight the longest I had ever waited for a movie that I actually saw at midnight, which was Star Wars Episode 3 and Deathly Hallows 1&2. I waited 7 hours for both. Sean waited 12 hours for episode 3…I had to meet him after I got off of work. But 26 hours!! That’s dedication, lady!

Leave a Reply

