Posted in Reading Books

Dear Santa: I Like Books

I’m not really one to make Christmas lists, as how I’m past the age of 12, and it’s usually easier to just let my husband be creative and get me what he wants.  But this year I’m going to make a list – a book list, that is – to let everyone know what books I plan on buying once I get some gift cards in my hands.  Or, if Santa reads this blog, he can just go ahead and pick from this list and send the book right on over.  That’s cool with me, too.

1.  Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

I read the first book in The Infernal Devices series last spring, and was pissed when I found out I had to wait until December to read the second book.  Well, the second book is here.  Hint, hint.

2.  Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Her book Lips Touch: Three Times was one of the best books I read in 2011.  Can’t wait to see if this tops my 2012 list, too.

3.  Beautiful Chaos by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

I just finished reading the first two books in the series a couple of weeks ago, and I can’t find this one at the library yet.  So…yeah.

4.  Matched by Ally Condie

The Dystopian premise sounds interesting to me, as most Dystopian premises do.  The bar is pretty high, though, thanks to The Hunger Games.

5.  The Iron King series by Julie Kagawa

Can’t find these damn books anywhere.  I’m hoping you have better luck than me.

7.  Uncommon Criminals by Ally Carter

The first book Heist Society was an unexpected surprise, and I hope to be surprised by this one as well.

8.  Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore (technically not released until May 1, 2012, but Santa can pull some strings, I’m sure)

The first book in this series Graceling was one another one of my faves from 2011, and I’m highly anticipating this third installment.  Please hurry, May 2012.

9.  Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay

I saw this at the bookstore the other day and was intrigued by a 700-year-old Juliet Capulet.  Plus the cover is pretty.

10.  Forest Born (Special Edition) by Shannon Hale

It’s the only book on my list I’ve already read, but I’ve been waiting for this beautiful special edition to come out to complete my collection.

So, Mr. Claus, I’m making it easy for you.  Close your eyes, point to one of these books, and head to whatever bookstore is still open in the North Pole (I’m sure there’s not many left there, either).  I’ll send you a thank-you card and some cookies if you’re able to come through for me.

Thanks in advance,

Diane

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

