Posted in Learning Things

2011: Good Riddance

Once again that time has come, the time where we say goodbye to another year and hello to one full of hope and promise.  Back in the day, the turning of a new year used to be a huge deal to me.  My friends and I would always reflect on all the fun stuff that had happened that year, and in lots of cases we would sob uncontrollably into our cans of Mountain Dew because “1993 was the best year ever!!!” and we were so sad to see it go.

Well, that time has long past.  Gone are the days when candy and soda and nostalgia ruled December 31, and welcome to adulthood when New Years Eve simply means trying to keep your eyes open long enough to see the clock on your DVR turn from 11:59 to 12:00.  The years don’t seem to be filled with amazing moments to cry over when the year ends.  Nowadays we just remember the few good things that happened that year, say goodnight, and go to bed.  Or, in my case, you curl up on a couch with your husband while simultaneously watching a movie, checking Twitter and Facebook, and harvesting your Smurfs Village crops.

It’s important stuff, people.

2011 will be remembered as the year I read 79 books (not hitting my goal of 100, but still pretty impressive), the year I mourned the ending of theatrical Harry Potter, and the year I become a blogger.  It was also the year I worked 40 hours a week, ate three meals a day, and slept at night, which doesn’t make it any different from any other year, does it?  To summarize:  2011 wasn’t a very spectacular year, and I am sooo ready to move on to the year of the Mayan apocalypse.

2012 promises to be a year of change.  After ten years of living in the City of Angels, I’m packing up my CA-born husband and daughter and moving them to the tundra we know as The Land of 10,000 Lakes.  It’s something I’ve wanted to do for over five years now, and I can’t believe it’s finally happening.  More importantly, I can’t believe I managed to talk my husband into agreeing into it.  But I think it’s the right thing to do for our future (and my sanity), and I’m pretty freaking excited.

2012 will also bring about a movie I’ve been awaiting for about ten years…The Hobbit.  After seeing the first teaser trailer for it a couple of weeks ago, I can say with confidence that this will be a definite highlight of my year, despite the fact that it won’t be happening for another 11 and a half months from now.  But I have to have at least one midnight movie premiere to attend this year, right?

You know what else I’m looking forward to?  New episodes of three of the best shows on TV right now: Doctor Who, The Walking Dead, and Game of Thrones.  It may seem trivial to some people who look at the upcoming year with a wider scope, but come on.  It’s the trivial things that get me through my day.

I also hope to expand on this blog in the coming year and work towards my goal of totally copying the format of Hello Giggles and creating my own webzine.  It will be similar to this blog – basically me talking about the most random things I can think of – but at a greater scale.  Title of said webzine to be determined, though I am currently taking any ideas.  Much welcome.

When it comes to reading, I am definitely going to hit my goal of 100 books, and I expect this will be even easier given the fact that I go both ways now.  There are a lot of YA books coming out in 2012 that I’m anticipating, for example, the sequel to Lauren Oliver’s Delirium (which was one of my 2011 faves), Pandemonium; the third book in the Seven Kingdoms trilogy, Bitterblue; and the sequel to Lauren DeStefano’s Wither, Fever.

When it comes to personal resolutions, I’m not really one to make any, except I usually tell myself the usual “Less complaining, more enjoying” life mantra.  It’s pretty good advise for anyone, especially for someone who works 40 hours a week in a clothing store and has to deal with some of the rudest people on the planet.  But like I said…2012 is the year for change.  And maybe that someone won’t have to deal with the rudest people on the planet anymore.

2012 is also the year of the much-awaited Summer Olympics in London, which I’ve been counting down to since they announced the location back in 2005.  I’m a huge fan of the Olympics – summer and winter – and I find nothing wrong with spending 17 days watching swimming, gymnastics, and other unknown sports from other unknown countries.  It’s the one time I watch sports, and the one time I feel patriotic and love my country, when it isn’t pissing the hell out of me.

I can confidently say that I’m looking forward to 2012 more than I have any other year in a long time – probably not since LOTR release years.  I know it’s gonna be a good one, and if the Mayans were right and it will be the last, then we’d all better make it count.

Happy new year!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

2 thoughts on “2011: Good Riddance

  1. Great entry, looking forward to reading more this year and SEEING you in 2012! I didn’t have the honor of knowing you gals in 1993 (met everybody in 1994) but I am very excited for everybody (or most) to be together soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

