Posted in Reading Books

Groundhog Day Books

Groundhog Day is the annual day in February where Punxsutawney Phil (said Groundhog) comes burrowing out of his hole to look for his shadow to let the public know wether we’ll have six more weeks of winter.  It’s a crap way of forecasting spring, but it brings out the crowds anyway.  This sacred holiday took place yesterday, and while I could care less whether he saw is shadow or not (he did – yay, winter) it made think of the movie Groundhog Day in which Bill Murray lives the same day over and over again, and then that got me thinking of books that I tend to read over and over again.  Nice segway, yeah?

When it comes to reading books, my main goal is to read ones that I’ve never read before.  And I do a pretty good job of doing that, given the number of books that I want to get my hands on when I’m at the bookstore or library.  There are so many books out there that I want to read that I could easily spend the rest of my life not reading the same book twice again.  But of course there are exceptions.  There are so-called Groundhog Day books that we tend to read over and over again because they either bring us comfort or they’re just that good.  I have plenty of those books, and here’s a sampling.

The Harry Potter Series

I can’t single out any book in this series, because when I reread them, I reread all of them.  I tend to do it once a year, typically around the holidays, or when I’m home sick, because they just make me feel better.  And they’re really good.  And they’re my favorite books.  So that’s why they’re Groundhog Day Books.

Served up fresh once every year.

The Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle Series

I read these books all the time as a kid, and to this day I still can’t get enough.  When I was a kid I loved reading about all the kids and their “ailments” that Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle would cure with her quick wit and magic potions, and now as an adult I read them from a parent’s point of view – and see if I can get any ideas to cure my daughter of such ailments as “Never-Want-To-Go-To-Bedder” or “Answer-Backer”.  Because you never know.

The Boxcar Children

I actually haven’t read this book in a long time, but I used to read the crap out of it.  The story of four siblings and their life living in a boxcar was really appealing to me, but for some reason I never read another book in the 127-book series.  I just kept reading the first one over and over again.  I never was a fan of mystery books, though, including Nancy Drew and The Bobbsey Twins books, and The Boxcar Children books went down that same path.  I simply just chose to stay at the beginning and never travel down that path.

No need to find out how it all ends.

The Princess Bride

One of the few adult books on this list, The Princess Bride is just as wonderful and hilarious as the movie of the same name.  But what you miss in the movie is the rich detail William Goldman includes in his book, bringing you that much more into the worlds of Florin and Guilder.  Of course you miss out on actually seeing Cary Elwes in action, but it’s still a fun book to read again.  And again.

When I was your age, television was called books.

The Hunger Games

The fact that I can tear through this book in one day is all the proof one needs that this should be read more than once.  I guarantee you will find something new and powerful each and every time.

May the odds be ever in your favor.

The Secret Garden

Everyone loves a good orphan story, and this one takes the cake.  I never get tired of reading about how horrible Mary’s life is at first, only to discover not only a beautiful garden, but friends as well.  We all know how it ends, but we never get tired of discovering it all ourselves.

It’s not a secret anymore…

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

This book so strange and trippy and wonderful that every time I read it, I’m blown away by what I’m reading.  It’s rare when you find something this original, but when you do, you make sure that you’re reading it as much as you can to get the most out of it.

Curiouser and curiouser…

My list of books I want to read this year is quite long, not to mention the books that are yet to be released.  But somehow I always manage to squeeze in a few of these Groundhog Day books, just to remind myself why I love them so much.

What are some of your Groundhog Day books?

Happy reading!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

2 thoughts on “Groundhog Day Books

  1. I read a lot of classics over and over. Books by L. M. Montgomery, not just the Anne books, because so many of her books are better than the ones about Anne. Jane Austen, Elizabeth Gaskell, and Charlotte Bronte. I love The Secret Garden and The Little Princess, but even better is The Lost Prince, which I’ve been re-reading since I was a child. Books by Louisa May Alcott, especially An Old-Fashioned Girl, Eight Cousins, and Rose in Bloom (yes, I do re-read Little Women and Little Men. Jo’s Boys, too, but it gets on my nerves). And any book by Georgette Heyer, whether romance or mystery. She was the queen of the Regency, following in the footsteps of Austen and Bronte. Every other Regency romance writer tries to be here and fails, usually.

    What else? I’ve been reading The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit almost yearly, since around ’00, and some of my favorite other fantasy is by Robin McKinley (The Blue Sword, Spindle’s End, Rose Daughter), Anne McCaffrey (the Pern books), Naomi Novik (Temeraire), and Brian Jacques (Redwall, Mossflower). I could keep going, but I’ll try to put a lid on it. New books are awesome, but it’s always great to have favorites that you can read over and over again!

Leave a Reply

