Posted in Listening to Music

…And I Keep Hittin’ Repeat-Peat-Peat-Peat-Peat-Peat

Yesterday I did a post about Groundhog Day books, aka, books you love to read over and over again.  And that got me thinking…what about music?  What about the songs that you love to listen to over and over again?  Whether driving in your car or sitting at home listening to your iPod, there are sure to be at least a few songs you’re guilty of overplaying.

Since I love so many different types of music, I don’t get sick of songs that easily.  If I find myself getting sick of a certain song, I make sure I stay away from it for a specific amount of time so I don’t end up hating it.  Because let’s be honest:  there’s nothing worse than a song that you hate (I’m talking to you, Smashmouth).  But then there are the songs that no matter how many freaking times you listen to them, you just can’t get enough.  They are few and far between, but they do exist.

“My Life Would Suck Without You” by Kelly Clarkson

I love this song.  I’ve always been a Kelly Clarkson fan, but from the moment I heard this song, I was hooked.  It was so ridiculously catchy, and Kelly Clarkson just has a way of belting out songs that make you want to belt them out with her (which I totally do).  I was thrilled when Glee performed this song on their show, but nothing compares to the Clarkson version.  Play, repeat, play, repeat-peat-peat.

“Overprotected” by Britney Spears

I will be the first to tell you that I am a huge Britney Spears fan.  I always have been ever since her MMC days.  When she exploded onto the scene with “Baby One More Time”, I knew she was going to have an awesome career (of course I didn’t predict the whole head-shaving thing, but who did?).  I love most of her songs (her slow songs are kind of boring, but that’s because she’s way more successful as a dancer), but for some reason the song from her third album Britney still sticks with me.  Not only was it her first way of saying “F*** you” to the music industry (she does it again later with “Piece of Me”), it’s just a really fun song to sing and dance to.  Catchy as all hell, and, in my opinion, Britney at one of her best.  Judge me if you want, but…play, repeat, play, repeat-peat-peat.

“(Everything I Do) I’d Do It For You” by Bryan Adams

This song came out over 20 years ago and I’m still not sick of it.  I first heard it when I saw the video for it on MTV from the movie Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, loved it, loved it even more when I actually saw the movie, and then officially declared it to be my favorite song of all-time.  Of course that title has changed many times over the years, but every time I hear that song, I realize how awesome it is and how I couldn’t possibly ever get sick of it.  The words are timeless, the melody is gorgeous, and Bryan Adams sounds like he was just meant to sing that song.  So…play, repeat, play, repeat-peat-peat.

“Basket Case” by Green Day

This was Green Day’s first big hit way back in 1994, and probably the funnest song to sing along to in the entire world.  Seriously, put this song on in your car, hit the freeway, and just sing REALLY LOUD.  I guarantee your day will improve tremendously, and I dare you NOT to hit rewind when it ends.  GRASPING TO CONTROL…SO I BETTER HOLD ON!!!!  This is one I am proud to play, repeat, play, repeat-peat-peat.

“Rich Girl” by Gwen Stefani feat. Eve

I love No Doubt, and I love Gwen Stefani.  Both write great, catchy songs, and I probably could have included a few of them on here.  But of all of them, I could probably listen to “Rich Girl” the most and still find something awesome about it every time.  Some of Stefani’s songs tend to repeat themselves over and over…for instance, “Hollaback Girl” is a great song that’s fun to sing along to, but the song doesn’t change much in its 3 minutes and 20 seconds run.  But “Rich Girl” has so many layers to it, mostly due to the collaboration with rapper Eve, that it sounds fresh to me every time.  I love it love it love it love it.  Original track ending…play, repeat, play, repeat-peat-peat.

“You and I Both” by Jason Mraz

Jason Mraz is an amazing songwriter, and an even more amazing singer.  And he proves both skills in his first big hit “You and I Both” from his first album Waiting for My Rocket to Come.  Lyrically it’s a sweet song without sounding totally cheesy, and when he sings he hits notes that not many male singers would feel comfortable attempting.  Plus his style of singing at that time was so different from anything else on the radio that when I listen to it today, it still feels new.  New enough to hit play, repeat, play, repeat-peat-peat.

“Love You Like a Love Song” by Selena Gomez

Well, I suppose I have to include this song on the list since it’s the song that inspired the post.  I don’t listen to the radio so I don’t know if it’s been overplayed yet, but every time I listen to it on my iPod, I love it.  It’s probably the catchiest song that’s come out in a long time, with its 80s-inspired beats and synthesizers, and Selena Gomez’s way of almost channeling a young Belinda Carlisle.  The lyrics aren’t groundbreaking, but it’s not the words you’re listening to.  It’s just the song itself, and that’s what makes you want to repeat-peat-peat-peat-peat-peat.

What are some of your repeat-peat-peat-peat-peat-peated songs that you love?

Happy listening!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

