Posted in Learning Things

Dreaming of Being Crafty

There are so many blogs out there about arts and crafts and creating beautiful things out of toothpicks and paste, and instead of inspiring me to become One of the Craft, they all just make me feel inadequate.  Thirty seconds on Pinterest, and I feel like a loser.  I know it’s not these people’s intention, and it’s not that I don’t enjoy watching them create, it’s just a constant reminder to me that I couldn’t be crafty if my life depended on it.

I have friends that can knit and sew and crochet, and it fills me with envy to see them showing off their latest scarf or hat on Facebook or their crafty blog.  It seems to come so easy to them, yet something like would probably take me at least a year to do, if I was even able to finish it.

Apparently this is crocheting.

You know what I can make?  Friendship bracelets.  And I am pretty handy with an old plastic loom from 1970.  When I get in the mood – which is rarely – I have been known to break out the loom and make a coaster for the table.

But they are so embarrassingly easy, my three-year-old can do it.  And since I only make them about once every five years, they don’t qualify me as “crafty”.

I suppose I shouldn’t say that I’ll never lean how to knit or sew or crochet.  It is possible for one to learn how to do such things if they just put a little time and effort into it.  The thing is, my patience level is so low for things like “art”, that I’m just not sure if I have the time and effort to give.  Unless this was involved:

If I were to have time and effort, the one thing I want to learn how to do besides make my own outerwear accessories is the Japanese art of crocheting tiny creatures, known as amigurumi.  These little crocheted creatures are so freaking adorable, and I’m totally jealous of anyone who can do it.

There are thousands of different amigurumi patterns you can find on the net, and people have done some amazing ones of well-known characters, including these awesome movie characters:

I have a category on Pinterest devoted solely to Amigurumi because it’s so awesome, and it has 78 followers.  There is a market for this stuff out there, and people will buy it if they see something they like. In fact, my husband just told me that if I learn how to do it, I don’t have to work.  Dude, I need to take him up on that offer!

So if there’s anyone out that knows the art of Amigurumi, or wants to learn and drink wine with me, let me know!  Because it would be awesome to not have to work and just stay at home making this shiz.

Roar.

Happy crafting!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

2 thoughts on “Dreaming of Being Crafty

  1. It’s kinda funny… I knit and crochet, but I’m jealous of how many books you have read! I’m just starting to get into reading, and I’m finding for the 1st time that I actually enjoy it. I think you’d be a lot better at knitting and crafting than you give yourself credit for! P.S. I knit/crochet, but I haven’t learned Amigurumi yet… it does look hard… but I bet there is a YouTube Amigurumi-making video out there with our names on it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

