Posted in Geeking Out

Best. Puzzle. Ever.

As you may know, I love to do puzzles.  I’ve blogged about puzzling before, and I hoped that I would start puzzling again on a regular basis.  But alas, that did not happen.  I haven’t done another puzzle since.

Until now.

I was at Barnes and Noble today, and I found myself looking in their Toys and Games section.  If you haven’t looked before, I highly suggest taking a cruise through there when you have a chance.  The have toys and games there that you can’t find anywhere else.

FUN!

Anyway, I was looking through some children’s puzzles, and my eyes fell upon something beautiful.

I recognized the illustrator right away, since I just wrote a blog last week praising her amazing work.  This puzzle features an illustration by Valeria Docampo, and it’s super amazing.  It’s a floor puzzle containing 36 pieces, but each piece is like a piece of artwork.  And the picture above?  That’s just a portion of what the picture actually is.  I’ll save that for the end.

I splurged and bought the puzzle, treating myself for getting a new job.  As soon as I brought it home, my daughter wanted to put it together.  And since the puzzle is half hers, I immediately obliged.

Getting started.

As you can see, there is more to this puzzle than meets the eye.  Is that Belle I spy in the bottom corner?  And a pumpkin carriage?  To whom does that belong?

Getting her groove on.

At this point, my daughter has fully taken over puzzle duty.  I give her small hints, for example, “Hey, that looks like is might be Cinderella’s crown!”, but other than that, she’s doing this on her own.  She’s kind of a prodigy in that way.

The final lap…

Here my daughter is figuring out where the last of the pieces go.  All that’s remaining is Snow White, which happens to be my favorite part of the puzzle (The Dwarves!  The woods!  The apple!) but unfortunately my daughter is a little Cinderella-biased.

After finally placing the last of the 36 pieces, the puzzle was complete.  My daughter was uber proud of herself, which I guess she should be, being only three years old and already a Master Puzzler.

In all seriousness, it really is a beautiful puzzle.  I wish I could frame it, but I know it’s something my daughter will want to put together countless times.  Which is totally fine with me, of course.  Because after mastering 36 pieces, 1000 is just around a corner.

A better look at the beauty.

On a side note, I just discovered they sell a lunchbox with the same picture…which I’m totally going to purchase without guilt.

I WANT YOU.

Happy puzzling!


Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

