Posted in Living Life, Reading Books

Excuses, Excuses

Forgive me, readers, for I have neglected you.  It’s been six days since my last blog, and, well, I do have some really good excuses to throw at you.  In an ideal world, I would have infinite amounts of time to where I could do every single thing I want all in one day, but, alas, that world only exists in my head.  And maybe in Spain.

It’s the siesta, people.

For starters, I began a new job.  That’s right, peeps…after six years working in retail management, six years of having crazy and mostly crappy hours, six years of being on my feet all day with little or no breaks, six years of dealing with the public with a fake smile plastered to my face, I’m finally FREE.  I don’t have the world’s most exciting job, but let me tell you how nice it is to have set hours – normal hours – after so many years.  I have my nights and weekends free again, which means I can feel like a normal person again…a normal person who likes to stay up late on Friday nights and wake up early on Saturday mornings to watch cartoons in my pajamas.

You know, like Biskitts.

So since I’ve had my nights free (I’m done at 4:00!!!!), you would think I’ve had tons of time to blog at night.  Well, this week has been a particularly busy reading week.  I finished two books:  The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, which is a pretty sweet book, like a combination of The Wizard of Oz and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland; and Crescendo, which is the sequel to the book Hush, Hush.  I read the latter last year, and finally found the sequel at the library last weekend.  I read it uber quickly because, well, it’s just a good story.  The author Becca Fitzgerald has a way of keeping my rapt attention to the point where I don’t want to put it down.

For my fellow Paranormal YA book lovers.

I started a new book last night, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  I had heard lots about this book, and even though it’s not in my normal genre I like to read (i.e. cheesy), I decided to pick it up.  Well, ever since I picked it up, I can’t put it down.  Okay, well, obviously I had to put it down to go to bed last night and to go to work today.  And I’m not holding it now.  But seriously, this book is good.  The subject matter is dark – WWII, Nazis, The Holocaust – and we all know how all that ended.  But the story and the characters will draw you in, and you find yourself living in their world, as depressing as it might be.  This is a must read for all people, not just teens.  I’m serious – this book listed twenty rave reviews from really good reviewers (not like Jessica, age 14, from Michigan.  Real reviewers like Publisher’s Weekly).  And it won thirteen big awards in the world of literature.  SO READ IT.

Read it.  It’s good for your health.

And finally I’ve been spending the rest of my time dreaming about having our own place again.  It’s nice to have free housing provided by the parentals, but the three of us in this basement is starting to wear on us.  Let me rephrase that:  The three of us are about to open a can of whoop-ass on each other.  We need our own space again.  So I’ve been looking on Craigslist for condos and townhouses, and even driving by a few of them.  Of course none of that can happen until the husband finds himself a job, so…looks like basement living for a little while longer.  Le sigh.

Anyway, I promise I will try not to let six days go by again without blogging.  Now that I have two days off, aka A WEEKEND!!!!, I should have some more time.  If I’m not watching cartoons in my pajamas all day.

Quite possibly the best cartoon of the decade.

Happy living!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

