Posted in Reading Books

Where For Art Thou, Books?

I love libraries.  I love the fact that I can check out any book for free, return it when I’m done, and check out more.  For someone who loves to read as much as I do, it’s a great way to save money.  If I bought every book I read, I would be so broke that I would be living on the streets.  With nowhere to put all my books.

There is one thing, however, that drives me crazy.  The book I need isn’t there!!!!  For example, let’s say I start a new series of books.  A trilogy.  I check out the first book, I love it.  I go back to get the second book…and it’s not there.  I check another library.  It’s not there.  I go back three days later to see if maybe the book had been returned.

And it’s not there.

This happens to me a lot.  And I know what you’re probably saying.  If you want to read the book that badly, just go and buy it.  Well, yes, I could do that.  But then I would have this random book all by itself on my bookshelf without the other books in the series to go with it.  It would be like buying Eclipse but not owning Twilight or New Moon.  And I’m way too type A to deal with that.

I’m not saying I’ve never done it.  I bought The Hunger Games a long time ago.  It took me about six months to finally get around to reading it.  Of course once I read it, I needed the second book, like, yesterday.  I went to three libraries – none of them had it.  I wasn’t going to sit around and wait for it, so I ended up buying both Catching Fire and Mockingjay from Amazon.  But it was okay since I already owned the first book.

On top of sequels that I’m waiting for, there are other books that I’ve wanted to read for a while that I just haven’t been able to find at any library.  So if there are any libraries out there reading this, here is my wish list.

Fever by Lauren Destefano

I read the first book in the Chemical Garden trilogy, Wither, last July and I loved it.  It’s a dystopian book where everyone dies when they reach the age of 25.  I was super excited for the next book to come out in February, and although I knew I would have to wait a little bit for libraries to carry the book after its release, I didn’t think I’d be waiting this long.

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

Another teen dystopian book that surprised me.  I bought it at Borders when they were closing for $2.99, and even though I didn’t know anything about it, I couldn’t pass up a good deal.  Turns out I ended up loving it and reading it in just one day.  In this dystopian world people get the “love gene” removed from their brains at age 18 because people have come to realize that love is a fatal disease that kills people.  The first book in the series, Delirium, ended on a total cliffhanger – one that actually made me yell “WHAT????” really loud when I finished, and I couldn’t wait for the next book to come out in February.  Well, like Fever, I knew I had to wait.  I’m currently on the waiting list to check out the book in ebook form from the library, but there are 16 people before me.

The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa

Unlike the previous books on this list, The Iron Daughter has been out for a couple of years.  It’s the second book in The Iron Fey series, a series that I couldn’t even find until I moved to Minnesota.  I’m serious – I couldn’t even find it in bookstores in California.  I finally found it here, and read the first book, The Iron King, a few weeks ago.  Ever since then, however, all I’ve been able to find are books three and four.  I need book two.  I certainly can’t read the third and fourth books without reading the second.  This one is particularly frustrating because those two other books are staring at me every time I go to the library, taunting me that they’re available and the second one is nowhere to be found.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

This book is actually the first book of a series written last year, and I really hadn’t heard anything about it until Goodreads did their annual Book Awards and Divergent was voted best book of 2011.  I don’t know much about it except that it’s a dystopian novel set in Chicago and will apparently become a movie.  I didn’t really know anything about it because I never saw it at the library, and guess what?  Still haven’t seen it.

Beautiful Chaos by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

I checked out the first two books of the Caster Chronicles series, Beautiful Creatures and Beautiful Darkness, from the library at the same time and read them back-to-back right around the same time that the third book came out in stores.  That was back in October of 2011, and since then I haven’t been able to find Beautiful Chaos anywhere.  The books are written from the point of view of a teenage boy, which was new to me, but that’s one of the reasons why I love the books so much.  So…Beautiful Chaos…library…any day now.

I know that eventually I will find these books.  I just have to be patient.  In the meantime there are plenty of other books to keep me occupied from the library for which I’m eternally grateful.  Because without the library, I would be lost.

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

