Posted in Geeking Out

A Little Something About Memes

*A Word of Caution:  This post is highly irrelevant and pointless and will do nothing to make you smarter.  But it might make you laugh, so you’re welcome.

How a person chooses to spend their lunch break is a true reflection of the person themself.  One might choose to read the paper, keeping him or her up-to-date on the goings-on of the world around them.  One might choose to read a book, like the lady who inconspicuously reads Fifty Shades of Grey when she thinks no one else is looking (we are).  One might even find a quiet corner to sit back and catch a quick catnap to revive him or her for whatever the rest of the afternoon may bring.

I, however, choose to spend my thirty minutes with my iPad and something I like to call “Google”.  More specifically:  Google: Memes.

That’s right.  I am a MEME-A-HOLIC.

 

I’ve always found that certain memes will cause a chuckle or snort given my mood.  Sometimes I roll my eyes.  And sometimes – I admit – they will fly right over my head.  I was never one to seek out memes; I was usually exposed to memes via my husband, who spends far too much time looking for funny stuff on the net.

 

And Dwight Schrute knows best.

But lately I’ve found that nothing makes me laugh harder than a clever meme.  A really good one will make me laugh the way Mystery Science Theater: 3000 made me laugh.  And if you think about it, they’re pretty much the same thing.  With MST3K you get to watch people (well, one person and two robots) make up their own hilarious dialogue to hilariously horrible movies.  With memes, people create their own captions with certain photos. *

*I’ve decided it’s impossible to define what a meme is in my own words.  If you must, please Wiki it.

True dat.

Memes are all the rage with the young folk today.  A year ago I hadn’t even heard the word “meme” until a co-worker of mine, 19, – referred to herself as the Socially Awkward Penguin.  I, 32, looked at her like she was insane.  She then told me that it was a meme…and I still thought she was insane because she was using lingo that my Gen- X ears didn’t understand.

 

After she explained more about memes, I realized that I had heard of a few, thanks to my husband and his obsession with the Leonardo DiCaprio Walking meme.

And there’s more.  So, so much more.

Now that I was “in the meme know”, I felt cool.  And young.  And slightly ridiculous.  Which is how all people in their 30s should feel at any given moment, if you ask me.  Maturity?  Who needs it?

This sudden urge to look for memes as a way of spending my lunch break began when my co-worker developed a fascination (re: obsession) with the character Loki from Thor and The Avengers.  I wanted to post a picture of Loki on her Facebook page (because I’m nerdy like that) and this was the first thing I found:

Though one can disagree.

Suddenly we started looking at all Loki memes.  Then Captain America memes.  Then Avengers memes.  Some were good, some were meh.  Some made me laugh out loud, some made me confused.  But they all made me more addicted and committed to finding THAT ONE AWESOME MEME.

You can find memes of any genre and any subject.  There are the memes that have rooted themselves in popular culture:  Socially Awkward Penguin, Drunk Baby, Bad Luck Brian, Hipster ArielScumbag Steve, Sad Keanu.

Norm will give Sad Keanu a drink.

Then there are the ones, the “Caption This” memes that I tend to find when I spend too much time on Google.  There are some hilarious ones that deal with Downton Abbey, My Little Pony, and basically any other form of media out there.  Some favorites I’ve come across:

Feminist Ryan Gosling

First World Problems.

Inception 

It’s Friday, Friday…

(seriously SO many Rebecca Black memes to choose from.  Can’t stop laughing.)

There are people out there in the internet world who spend all their time creating these memes just for the entertainment of others.  And while most people would view this hobby as stupid and useless, I must say that if it weren’t for them, I would spend my lunch hour either watching the face expressions of the woman reading Fifty Shades of Grey or waiting for my Magical Blueberries to harvest in my Smurfs Village.  If it weren’t for them, I’d have nothing at work to make me laugh (the wholesale and distribution business isn’t as funny as it sounds).

So thank you, all you meme creators and internet phenomenon activists.  Because of you, my sense of humor is challenged, my IQ is slightly lowered, and my lunch hour rocks.  Keep ‘em coming.

Happy meming (memeing?)

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

