Posted in Watching Movies

Little Relics of Movie History

I’m not one you would call a pack rat.  I collect some things, but I definitely know when to throw things out.  However, there are certain things I do like to save because, well, I just do.  I guess to me they’re like little bookmarks in my life – a date stamp of certain events that mean just a little bit to me.  To the average person these things are meaningless, and most people just throw them away afterwards.

So, what am I talking about?

Movie stubs, people.  I save movie stubs.          

The collection I have now goes back to when I first moved out to California eleven years ago.  I used to save them when I was younger, going back to around 1992 when I first actively started attending movies.  But unfortunately that collection disappeared, most likely into a trash can when I wasn’t looking.

But I started saving them again eleven years, and still have most of them today.  It’s fun to look at them every now and then to see if I still remember going to see that particular movie.  And movie stubs are awesome because not only do they say the name of the movie, but they have the date, the time, and the theater at which you saw it.  For example, I have a collection of tickets from the 13 times I saw The Fellowship of the Ring in the theater (I know, craziness), and most of them are from different theaters, which makes all those times easier to keep track of.  (The picture to the right is of random midnight showings).

The oldest one I have goes back July 11, 2001 when I saw Final Fantasy at General Cinema in Sherman Oaks, CA.  I saw it with future hubby and one of his friends, and to be honest I don’t remember any of the movie because it held no interest for me (I didn’t pick the movie, needless to say).  But I do remember going to the movie, thanks to the info on the stub.

I have a handful of tickets from the numerous times I saw Moulin Rouge in 2001, ranging from seeing it in first-run theaters to multiple times in a ghetto second-run in Northridge, CA, each time with future hubby.  I remember those times really well because the sound on the theater’s copy of Moulin Rouge was really crappy for the first 20 minutes of the movie (but luckily went back to normal just in time for Ewan McGregor to sing “Your Song”).

I don’t keep my Fellowship of the Ring tickets with me because – and yes, this is really nerdy of me – I have them all framed as a collage.  I had an extra 5×7 frame lying around and I got the idea for the FOTR collage – all 13 tickets – and it actually looks kind of cool.  But I have my tickets from the times we saw The Two Towers and Return of the King, even though by that time we didn’t have the free time to go see them 13 times like we had previously with the first one.

I saw all the Harry Potter movies in the theater, of course, but for some reason I don’t have all the tickets.  I only have my ticket from Sorcerer’s Stone (November 19, 2001), Chamber of Secrets (November 15, 2002), Half-Blood Prince (July 16, 2009), and Deathly Hallows Pt. 1 and 2 (November 19, 2010 and July 15, 2011).  Which actually upsets me a lot.  Which means I’m totally going to go searching for them once I finish this post.

Missing:  Three stubs.  Reward to follow.

I know I’m not the only one who does this. If you Google “movie stubs”, you’ll come up with a bunch of sites of people who’ve turned all their stubs into collages and what-not.  And  AMC Theaters has a program where you can save your virtual stubs that go towards some kind of rewards program, like getting free upgrades on snacks (screw the diet and turn that small popcorn into a medium!)  But it costs $12 a year, and you have to go to a lot of movies for it to be worth anything.

I like the old fashioned way.  And maybe someday I’ll put them all in some sort of scrapbook, the way I did with all the old movie ads I used to find in newspapers (which is still in the basement of my parent’s house).  And since the most recent movie stub I have is from the 3-D re-release of Beauty and the Beast back on January 27, 2012, maybe I should go see some more movies.

Happy movie-going!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

