Posted in Drinking Tea

Sniffle, Cough, Sneeze…Pass the Tea, Please!

All the signs were there.  Sore throat.  Runny nose.  Watery eyes.  I thought I was going to be able to escape the virus that inhabited my daughter for a week like a superhero but, alas, it finally caught hold of me last night, letting me know as I crawled into bed that it was setting up shop and didn’t plan on leaving right away.

I don’t get very sick very often, which is awesome.  Having drank green tea everyday for over ten years, I think I’ve built up a pretty strong immune system.  However, I am not immune to four-year-olds who cough in my face and insist on kissing me goodnight depsite the fact that they have snot all over nose.

So there you have it.  I have a bit of a cold.  It’s not horrible – I can still function at work and drive and hold up a semi-decent conversation about how much I hate Counting Crows (which occured this morning) – but it’s enough to make one feel, well, kinda crappy.  I keep sneezing, and since I don’t have any tissues at my desk, I keep sniffling which, when other people do it, drives me nuts.  So I’m trying to keep the sniffling down to a minimum, dashing to the bathroom when I decide I really need to blow my nose.

Though I may need to purchase this to place at my desk.

While this all may seem immensely exciting to read about, I do have a purpose for today’s post, and that is what to drink when you’re suffering from the cold and flu blues.  The answer, of course, is tea, and I’m here to educate you on what teas to look for while miserably shuffling down the market aisle when all you want to do is crawl into bed and go to sleep.

In doing some research on this topic, I got a lot of my information from this site, which also has helpful information about other tea benefits.  So if you want to learn more about nature’s remedy for everything, head to that page.  Or just continue reading this awesome post right in front of you.

Since green tea is the one I drink the most of, I was pleased to learn that the ingredient in green tea, EGCG, specifically targets cold viruses.  So instead of taking that gross, syrupy red stuff to to take the sniffles away, I can drink unlimited cups of green tea and (hopefully) feel better.  Naturally!

It’s EASY being green.

Another tea you can drink to blast the bug is ginger tea combinded with honey.  Now I’m not a huge fan of ginger.  When I was pregnant and uber-sick, everyone told me to take ginger to make the nausea disappear.  The thought of ginger in itself made me vomit.  So I tend to stay away from the stuff.

However, if you don’t mind ginger, it can help warm the body and get rid of fevers.  It can also help ease congestion and thin out your gross mucus, which can help you sleep better at night.  Because believe me, one of the worst things in the world is to try to sleep when you can’t breathe.  Seriously, it sucks.

Gross.  But beneficial (if you like to breathe).

Got a sore throat?  Try gargling some sage tea (which makes things fun, too!)

Think you’re getting a cold?  Quick, drink some elderberry tea and shorten the length of that virus so you don’t waste all your sick time in one week!

Feel like you’re doing to die?  Better get some echinacea in you to weaken the intensity of that nasty cold!  But don’t drink it every day because your body will get used to it, giving you absolutely no help at well when you really need it.  Drink it sporatically to get the full immunity benefit.

There’s even a cute koala on the box.

Of course none of these claims are certified by the good ol’ FDA.  And I’m nowhere near being a doctor, so don’t think I have some sort of magical cure for that silly bug your kid passed on to you.  But it is proven that tea is healthy for you no matter what sort of state you’re in, so by just drinking it alone you’re doing yourself a favor.

A couch, a TV, and a good book can also do wonders.

Cheers!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

2 thoughts on “Sniffle, Cough, Sneeze…Pass the Tea, Please!

Leave a Reply

