Posted in Learning Things

The Random Birthday Post

Before you start to wish me happy birthday, let me just tell you that it’s not.  My birthday, I mean.  I still have another six months until I have to light another candle.  Today is just another merry unbirthday for me.

However, there are people in this world who are celebrating a birthday today.  I discovered this as I cruising the Wikipedia website, a site I refer to far too much.  But sometimes when I’m at a loss for words I like to go to the site and type in the date to see if anything extraordinary happened on this day that’s interesting enough to write about yet requires minimal research.

As far as events on this date in history, nothing really relevant has happened on October 11.  There have been a couple of natural disasters (earthquakes, floods, etc), some battles during some wars, and Saturday Night Live premiered on this date in 1975.  But since natural disasters and wars are depressing, and I haven’t watched Saturday Night Live since 1996, I’m not really up to writing about them.

But I noticed as I cruised the list of birthdays that there were actually people I had heard of – and not just in passing, but people that have actually mattered to me at one point in time.  So to the following I wish you a happy birthday, along with many more (that is if you’re not already dead, which some of you are.  Sorry.).

Henry Heinz – Born in 1844, Turns 168 Today (But Died in 1919)

Just by looking at the last name you should know who I’m talking about.  Yep, this is the guy behind those bottles of ketchup you see on tables in restaurants everywhere.  And why is he important to me?  Um, because I love ketchup.  Plain and simple.  I can’t eat burgers, hot dogs, or french fries without ketchup.  And thanks to the birthday boy, I can easily get it wherever I am.  Thank you, Henry Heinz!

Joe Simon – Born in 1913, Turns 99 Today (But Died in 2011)

Let’s just get one thing straight:  Without Joe Simon, WE WOULD NOT HAVE CAPTAIN AMERICA.  And without Captain America, WE WOULD NOT HAVE THE AVENGERS.  So yes, Joe Simon is kind of a big deal if you’re a fan of comics and superheros like myself.  He was the co-creater of said Captain with Jack Kirby, and was the first editor was Timely Comics, which eventually evolved into Marvel Comics.  Which, you know, is awesome.  So thanks, Joe.  Joss Whedon owes you some money!

Daryl Hall – Born in 1946, Turns 66 Today

News flash:  I love Hall & Oates!  Seriously, those guys were putting out hit after hit in the 1980s, and still TO THIS DAY have sold more albums than any other music duo in history.  Some of my favorites that he has written or co-written include “Rich Girl”, “Kiss on My List”, “Private Eyes”, “I Can’t Go For That”, and “Maneater”.  So let’s all celebrate his birthday and the fact that he made (and continues to make) great music to drive to.

Dawn French – Born in 1957, Turns 55 Today

Who is Dawn French?  Well, she’s a British actress.  And I honestly haven’t seen much of what she’s done, even though she’s been acting since 1982.  But she played The Fat Lady in Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban and was the voice of Mrs. Beaver in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, which means she’s pretty awesome in my book.

Michael J. Nelson – Born in 1964, Turns 48 Today

If you’re a fan of Mystery Science Theater 3000, you know who I’m talking about.  He was the head writer for the show during its entire 11-year run, and then the host of it when creator Joel Hodgson left.  The show remains one of the funniest spoofs ever made, and thanks to Netflix I can watch it and laugh whenever I want.  It’s not every day a writer like that makes me laugh consistently, so yay!  Happy birthday, Mike Nelson.

Sean Patrick Flanery – Born in 1965, Turns 47 Today

Sean Patrick Flanery, aka Young Indiana Jones, aka SPF (as my friend and I liked to call him) was the object of my affection for a brief period of time sometime around 1993.  He played Young Indy in the short-lived TV series “The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles”, and since I was 13 years old, I thought he was “soooooo cute” even though he was 14 years older than me.  I have no idea if he’s still “sooooo cute”, but he’s still pretty awesome.  And almost 50.

Luke Perry – Born in 1965, Turns 47 Today

I never thought I would see the day when Dylan McKay would turn 47, but today is that day.  Like many other girls my age back in the early 90s, I had a MAJOR crush on Luke Perry from Beverly Hills, 90210.  Even though I tended to switch from Brandon to Dylan on a weekly basis, Luke had a slightly greater pull on my 12-year-old heart.  Especially when he did the movie Buffy the Vampire Slayer in 1992.  This guy definitely deserves a happy birthday.

Emily Deschanel – Born in 1976, Turns 36 Today

I used to be a big fan of the show Bones, which stars the birthday girl and David Boreanaz , but to be honest I haven’t watched it for a few years – not because I stopped liking the show, but because other stuff got in the way.  But even so, I’ve always liked Emily Deschanel.  I think she’s gorgeous, smart, and seems pretty cool.  So here’s to your birthday, Dr.!

Matt Bomer – Born in 1977, Turns 35 Today

Guess what, Matt Bomer?  You’re HOT.  And yes, I realize I have ZERO chance with you (I’m married, you prefer boys).  But that doesn’t mean I can’t look and compliment you on your hotness.  I first saw Matt Bomer on the TV show Chuck, and then he went on to do the show White Collar (which I have yet to see).  And then of course there was his appearance on Glee as Blaine’s older brother, which sort of blew me away.  So happy birthday to Matt Bomer…and please come back to Glee.

Bradley James – Born in 1983, Turns 29 Today

Okay, I hardly know enough about Bradley James to write a small paragraph about him.  But I know he plays Arthur (Prince, and then King) in the somewhat-awesome-yet-I-never-have-time-to-watch Merlin, and he’s kind of fun to look at (re: hot).  It doesn’t matter if he’s four years younger than me.  I can still wish him a happy birthday.  Hail, King Arthur!

Michelle Trachtenberg – Born in 1985, Turns 27 Today

Yep, you’ve heard it here first:  Dawn, Buffy’s little magical sister, turns 27 today!  She’s officially not a little girl anymore!  But that’s okay, she’s still pretty cool.  In addition to appearing on Buffy the Vampire Slayer, she portrayed my favorite literary heroine Harriet M. Welsh in Harriet the Spy and once in a while plays a totally annoying bitch on Gossip Girl.  And she still has plenty of years left in her, so happy birthday, person whose last name is fun to say.

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

