Posted in Checking Stuff Out, Reading Books

The Waiting List

If you’ve all been doing your homework, you know that right now I’m currently taking break from my normal young adult lit reading habits and delving back into the world of Harry Potter, the way I always do every fall.  And even though I’m thoroughly enjoying my time with Harry, it’s hard not to notice all the YA books that glare at me at the library, taunting me with their pretty covers, silently begging me to check them out as I painfully pass them by.

Must…resist…the…prettiness.

It also makes cruising the Goodreads website difficult to visit everyday.  This is where I usually discover all the new and amazing books that I want to read, making a list a bringing it with me to the library.  And just to let you know, my criteria for books I want to read is that they usually have to have a Goodreads rating of 3.80 or higher.  Anything lower than that, I usually disregard.  I say “usually” because there are always exceptions.

So I figure that instead of being tempted by the books I’m not reading at the library, now is the perfect time to sit on some eLibrary waiting lists.  I love checking books out on my iPad and having them sent to me in seconds, but a lot of the ones I want have waiting lists.  Normally this would drive me nutso, but since I’m currenly preoccupied with British wizards and witches, I can patiently wait for these books to become available.  Let’s take a look at the list, shall we?

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Insurgent is the sequel to the book I finally got my hands on (thanks, Natalie!), the Goodreads Book of the Year for 2011, DivergentDivergent was crazy intense – we’re talking Hunger Games level of intensity – and I devoured it.  Of course – of course – it ended on a cliffhanger, thus creating my need for the sequel.  Well, of course I haven’t seen the sequel available at the library, so I put myself on the eLibrary waiting list.  It’s been awhile, but I’ve moved up quite a bit – I’m patron 75 out of 139.

The Selection by Kiera Cass

I originally heard about this book from Goodreads, a site that I’m impossibly addicted to.  First off, let’s talk about the cover.  GORGE.  The story could be crap, and I would still want to read it because of that AMAZING DRESS.  But fortuntely the story sounds rather intriguing – a sort of Princess-Meets-The Bachelor dystopian story, which is right up my I-have-yet-to-get-sick-of-you dystopian alley.  I am currently partron 45 out of 78.  Sigh.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze Runner is another book that I kept seeing popping up on Goodreads, reading amazing review after amazing review.  It’s – surprise – a dystopian novel, this one about a guy who wakes up to find that he doesn’t remember anything except his first name.  Like Jason Bourne.  But minus the Matt Damon.  And then he meets a bunch of other teens just like him.  And then amazingness ensues.  People obviously love this book, which is why I’m still patron 30 out of 64.  Awesome.

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

For the longest time I was getting this author mixed up with Veronica Roth, author of Divergent and Insurgent, which is actually how I found Under the Never Sky.  It has a 4.13 Goodreads rating, which is pretty damn good in my book.  I don’t really know exactly what it’s about – it sounds like it’s about a girl who lives “on the outside”, alone and always in danger by cannibels and storms.  I guess it’s because I don’t really know the plot but because it’s dystopian that I want to read it.  And it looks like I’ll get to read it before the others – I’m patron 9 out of 16.

Ten by Gretchen McNeil

I have a few trusted friends on Goodreads – people whose reviews I know I can take seriously and who are honest in their reviews.  Ten has a slightly lower rating than the above books – 3.89 – but it still makes the cut, and the people I follow really spoke highly of this book.  It’s a horror book (re:  not dystopia) – like one reviewer described it, “Just like my favorite slasher movies from the nineties. All the tropes, all the angst and dramz, and all the mystery.” – and sounds like a good read for a stormy, October evening.  And it looks like I’ll definitely get it in October – I’m patron 1 out of 1.

So, waiting for books that you really want to read is hard to do.  But if you’ve got something to keep you busy in the meantime  – like 4224 pages of Harry Potter – then waiting isn’t so bad.  And because you’re on the list for so long, you’ll probably forget that you were even on the list to begin with, making that “You’re book is now available” email just like getting a surprise Christmas present!  Drinks all around!

Happy reading! (and waiting)!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

