Posted in Listening to Music

This Is My Jam

Have you ever noticed that people will ask you, “So, what movies have you seen lately?” or “Have you been watching Breaking Bad?” but then rarely ask, “So, what new music are you listening to?”  Because music is so universal and so everlasting, we don’t really think that we’re keeping up with it the way we keep up with movies and television.  And because people listen to so many different types of music, it’s a hard question to ask without getting a totally obscure answer.

But I’ve discovered that there is a way letting the world know what you’re listening to.  The website This Is My Jam lets people pick a song a day to share with the w0rld (or at least with their friends on Facebook), also introducing new music to people at the same time.  I kept noticing “This Is My Jam” notifications pop up on my Facebook from people like Wil Wheaton (yeah, we’re  best friends…didn’t you know???), so I finally decided to sign up.

Since it’s Thursday, I’m going to fill you in on four jams that I’ve been listening to this week (one for every day of the work week).  I don’t listen to the radio – currently I’m listening to all the albums on my iPod in alphabetical order (I know, it’s a little OCD), and at this moment I’m listening to the soundtrack to Mary Poppins (which means I’m a little over halfway through).  The only way I’m exposed to different music is when I’m watching music videos on my Vevo app in the mornings when I’m getting ready for work.  But here are some of the jams I’ve come across this week that have been on my mind.

“Love on Top” by Beyonce

I know this song came out last year from Beyonce’s 4 album, but I hadn’t really listened to it until yesterday when I saw it on Vevo.  I’ve always liked Beyonce, but this song instantly blew me away.  The first thing I thought of when it started was “Oh my God, Janet Jackson” – meaning the song is a total throwback to ’80s pop and R&B, like early Janet Jackson and Whitney Houston.  And OH MY GOD this song is so much fun.  And, incidently, from the only Beyonce album that I don’t own.  Which means I totally have to get this album.  And the video…well, let’s just say that it proves that Beyonce is one of the talented performers today.  Sorry, Taylor.

“Home” by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros

For some reason I have this song on my iPod – it must have been a free song of the week on iTunes – but I honestly don’t think I had ever heard it until yesterday when it came on my iPod (alphabetically).  And you know what?  I LOVE IT.  I can’t even describe what style of music it is, because it takes a little bit of rock and folk and mixes it up with oldies and country.  The music and the lyrics draw you in, makes you listen, and then makes you feel like you’ve stepped back in time.  Make sure you listen to the speaking part – it’s hilarious and aw shucks romantic all at the same time.  Awesome.

“Notorious” by The Saturdays

This video popped up on Vevo during the playlist entitled “Take That”…and yes, that would be the British boy band Take That from the mid-90s.  Whatever.  Anyway, this song came on and I immediately felt like dancing.  I didn’t even know who The Saturdays were, but after a little research I discovered that they are the Spice Girls minus 15 years.  I don’t know if any of their other songs are this addicting, but I wanted to listen to this all over again the second it ended.  It surprised me – excluding the Spice Girls, I usually don’t like girl pop groups (I totally blame The Pussycat Dolls).  But all five of these ladies have a great sound, and it’s just a really fun song to blare while you’re driving in the car.

“In Your Arms” by Kina Grannis

I actually discovered this song way back in January when I saw the video on VH-1.  Let me just say that if you watch any video today, watch this one.  It was made using ONLY jelly beans – 288,000 of them – and I’m rather obsessed with it.  But since I finally found her CD at the library, I’ve been listening to this song a lot again, and I’ve come to really appreciate the sweetness and simpleness of it minus all the jelly beans.  She’s got a great voice – the kind that relaxes and comforts you a la Colbie Caillat – and this song does nothing but make me smile.

Those are my jams.  What are yours this week?

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

