Posted in Reading Books

YA: I’m Back!

Well, I can’t deny it any longer.  The lure of young adult literature has sung its sweet siren song and guided me back into its seductive arms.  This, of course, has caused me to stop my annual Harry Potter read-a-thon just one book short (I promise I will get to Deathly Hallows before the year ends) and give in to all the wondrous books that have been calling out my name each time I stepped into the library.

As usual, my eyes were bigger than my rate of reading, as I tended to check out more than I could probably read in three weeks’ time.  However, when fully committed, I am able to tear through a good number of books, so I’m positive that this will be a successful round.  Here’s my official “YA: I’m Back!” list for the month of November:

The Montmaray Journals by Michelle Cooper

A Brief History of Montmaray * The FitzOsbornes in Exile * The FitzOsbornes at War

I’m halfway through the trilogy, and all I can say is that I’m hooked.  It has romance, intrigue, royalty, and an all-over Gothic feel that I love.  It’s an alternate history that takes place in Western Europe during the years leading up the WWII, a time that I love reading about.  Alternate history stories are fascinating, and I hope this is where more YA books are going (rather than strictly paranormal).  If you love a great narrative, these books (so far) are a wonderful read.

Cinder by Melissa Meyer

I’ve been looking for this book for FOREVERS, and I unexpectedly found it at the library last weekend.  I’m always sketchy of Cinderella retellings because there are just SO MANY OF THEM, but word on the street is that this one is one of the best.  Why?  Because Cinderella is a cyborg, that’s why!  And who doesn’t love a good cyborg fairy tale?

The Lost Girl by Sangu Mandanna

I knew nothing of this book when I picked it up except for the fact that it seemed different than any other paranormal book I’ve read.  It’s basically about a girl named who is created as copy of someone else and supposed to replace a girl named Amarra, so that when Amarra dies, she takes her place as the same person.  Of course it’s not going to be that simple, and I’m terribly excited to find out why.

Bitterblue by Kristen Cashore

This book wasn’t even on my radar when I was at the library yesterday, but I spotted it as I searched the shelves for Kiera Cass’s The Selection (which I still haven’t found).  Bitterblue is the sequel to the book Graceling, which was one of the best books I read last year.  It takes place years after the first, so I’m interested in seeing where the author has taken this fascinating fantasy world.

Romeo Redeemed by Stacey Jay

Romeo Redeemed is the sequel to the book Juliet Immortal which, I admit, wasn’t as amazing as I hoped it was going to be.  But it was an entertaining read – entertaining enough to make me want to read the second book, which I found on the eLibrary site.  In the first one we meet Juliet, who’s curse ever since she and Romeo killed themselves is that she dies over and over again by the hands of Romeo – both who take over someone’s else’s body every time they “regenerate” – but never fully dies.  Romeo was a total ass in the first one, so I’m curious to find out how he will “redeem” himself.

I also have two other books – Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi and Valkyrie Rising by Ingrid Paulson – but I already mentioned them in another post, so I won’t drone on about them here.  And to be honest, looking at this list of books I have to read, it’s highly doubtful I’ll get to those in November.  Which means stay tuned for December’s list!  It’s gonna be here before you know it…

Happy reading!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

