Posted in Watching Movies

52 Weeks, 52 Movies – JANUARY

So my first month of watching new movies wasn’t totally exciting, but hey…I saw five new (to me) movies, which means I’m that much closer to my goal.  And even more importantly – they were all good!  Of course I rarely see movies that I hate, so chances are all the movies I watch this year will be good.  Maybe not all great, but at least good.  Enough.

With no further ado, I bring you my five movies of January!

Super 8 (2011)

super-8-movie-poster

Since I’ve been a geeky fan of J.J. Abrams ever since Felicity – yes, FELICITY, people – and even more so after I went to his panel with Joss Whedon at Comic-Con a couple of years ago (name droppin’), I was really excited to see his sci-fi homage to Steven Spielberg (who also produced the movie).  Of course it took me two years to finally see it, but I did.  And I really liked it!  I didn’t love it, as I tend to reserve that word for movies that give me the feels, but it was really fun to watch.  Fun, as in the crazy train wreck that happens in the beginning of the movie.  Also the zombie make-up.  Zombie make-up is cool.

elle-zombie-filmspongeShe’s just playin’.  It’s cool.

Les Miserables (2012)

Les-Miserables-Movie-Poster-Large

Speaking of love, this one kicked me right in the feels.  I knew I was going to like this movie ever since this post, but I didn’t think it was going to turn me into a blubbering mess the way it did.  Good God, I cried like a baby during this movie.  Not just because it’s a depressing movie (it is), but because that’s what some of those songs do to me.  CRY CRY CRY CRY.  That’s what the name of this movie should be called.  That or “Everybody Dies”.  Oh, and Marius?  I know we’ve never had a good relationship, me hating your character and all, and not understanding why exactly Eponine loves you so much, but now I’m pretty sure I want to marry you.  The end.

Les-Miserables-Samantha-Eddie_510x317Yerp….I get it.

Secret of the Wings (2012)

Tinker-Bell-Secret-of-the-Wings-2012-movie-poster

I know you’re probably thinking, “What?  A kid’s movie?  About Tinker Bell?”  Why yes, it is.  Thanks for noticing.  And since you don’t know it already, Tinker Bell is the SHIZ.  She’s hilarious, for one thing, and she gets mad easily.  Which is something all the Disney princesses are lacking:  temper.  You seriously think Cinderella put up with all that crap without wanting to yell and throw things?  That’s why Tinker Bell is awesome.  And this newest installment in the Tinker Bell series is my favorite (yes, I’ve seen them all).  Why?  Well, it takes place during winter, which we all know is the best month.  And it introduces us to winter fairies (or are they pixies?), Periwinkle and Spike.  It’s all great fun, the animation rocks, and I can watch it with my daughter.  Win win win win win situation.

secret-of-the-wings-winter-fairiesThe New Gang.

Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol (2012)

Mission_Impossible_Ghost_Protocol_Unleashes_Character_Posters_1321479467

Tom Cruise is one of those actors who I will always enjoy watching despite whatever is going on in their personal life.  He gets lots of crap for his Scientology background and his tendency to jump on couches, but I honestly don’t care about that stuff.  Why?  Because Tom Cruise is the ultimate MOVIE STAR.  Seriously, look that word up in the dictionary and it’ll probably have a picture of him.  All the Mission Impossible movies are great, but I especially loved this one.  Tom Cruise does what he does best, which is run and hang from precarious heights.  Jeremy Renner (my husband’s not-so-secret man-crush) is also in this movie, and I really hope they make more MI movies with his character because he was kinda awesome, as is Simon Pegg, of course.  And the girl…well honestly I have no idea who the girl is, but she was pretty cool, too…a lot better than what’s-her-face from the first movie.  It’s a perfect Saturday night popcorn movie, and I highly suggest you watch it.  Or Tom Cruise will run all over your face.

Mission_Impossible-Ghost-ProtocolHe likes to climb ridiculously high buildings.

First Position (2012)

51+n6Agd9lL._SL500_SS500_

So technically this “movie” is actually a “documentary”, but I’m still totally counting it because it had just as much drama as any other movie out there.  And it was released at Sundance.  It’s about ballet dancers competing in this huge competition that will A) get them noticed, B) get them a scholarship to a prestigious dance school or C) get them a contract to a prestigious dance company.  The documentary focuses on five very different dancers and their journey in preparing for this competition.  It’s stressful and dramatic and emotional, but it’s BALLET DANCING, which means it’s awesome.  Seriously, the crap these dancers put their bodies through on the very slim chance that they’ll actually do this as their career is inspiration for us all.*

*May make you feel like a failure in comparison.

tumblr_mfb4b8j1ZR1qfq4wmo1_500Not sure if leg is even attached to body…

That’s it for the month of January.  What’s in store for February?  Well, there are a couple of past Best Picture winners on Netflix that I have yet to see, plus a certain remake of a classic (of which I’m a little weary, but I’ll probably end up liking anyway).

Happy watching!!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

2 thoughts on “52 Weeks, 52 Movies – JANUARY

  1. You’re freaking me out, man. I just rewatched M:I 4 and saw First Positioin for the first time. I spent all of M:I 4 with my jaw hanging open and a goofy smile on my face. Stunts. Ridiculous escapes. Explosions. Everytime he cuts the line and smacks into the top of the window and they CATCH HIM, I’m like “OH!” and slap The G’s arm. LOVE IT.
    First Position was FANTASTIC. And now I have Peña on my list.
    And Les Mis? As expected. Sort of awful and fab all at the same time. And Marius. I get it, too.

Leave a Reply

