Posted in Reading Books

Didn’t Even Last a Month

Oooooohhhhh, I’m pathetic.  Remember that whole “I’m going to read different in 2013!” mantra I “committed” myself to a couple of weeks back?  My whole, “I’m going to read mysteries and historical fiction and biographies blah blah blah blah”….?  Yeah, you can just pretend that never happened.

I was doing pretty well at first.  I read two mystery books, Royal Flush and Royal Blood from the Her Royal Spyness series by Rhys Bowen, and I enjoyed them.  I was having fun finding new books in sections of the library that I had never ventured in before (romance, mystery, etc.).  I was excited when I checked out a book about Wallis Simpson, Duchess of Windsor called The Shadow Queen.  I thought, “I’m going to be entertained because it’s fiction, but I’ll also learn something!”

13155464

Yeah…that’s a bunch of crap.

I read about four chapters of the book, and I was bored.  I’m not saying that the book was totally boring, because it wasn’t.  But reading it felt like a chore.  I would see it sitting on the table and I would think, “Oh, I should really spend some time getting through that thing…it’s going to be due back at the library soon…”

That never happens when I read young adult fiction.

FE_PR_0518books415x276This is what happens!!

I’m serious.  When I check out YA books at the library, I get those things read as fast as I can.  I get that shiz done, people.  Not because it’s a chore and that I feel almost obligated to read them because I checked them out, but because I really really want to read them.

But even though I decided to give up on The Shadow Queen, I wasn’t going to give up on reading different just yet.  I had checked out the first two books of a fun-looking mystery series about two sister witches, and I was excited to get started on them.

At least that’s what I was telling myself.  What I was really thinking was, “I wonder if there are any new YA books at the library.”  Sigh.

I shook those thoughts out of my head and proceeded to read the first page of It Takes a Witch by Heather Blake.  And the first page was all I read.

9780451235527B

Why didn’t I go any further?  Was it really that bad?

Well no, it wasn’t bad.  Honestly, I don’t even remember what I read.  I just know I wasn’t interested in reading at that moment, and I never looked back.  After that I returned all my books to the library, and that’s when the inevitable happened.

I saw YA books on the shelf that I’ve never been able to find until now!!!

Well, obviously one has to take that as a sign.  These books don’t just pop up at the library every day.  When you see them, you check them out.  No questions asked.

And if I needed another sign to go back to my beloved YA books, it was that two books I’ve been sitting on the waiting list for at the eLibrary just became available yesterday as well.  And there’s no way I’m waiting another two months for those books to become available again.

So here’s what I’ve got on my plate for the next three weeks:

Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Across-the-Universe_Beth-Revis

I bought the sequel to this popular YA book way back in April of last year, and all this time I’ve never been able to find the first one.  Of course until yesterday.  So duh, I grabbed it.  I don’t even know what the story is about (I wasn’t about to read the sequel before the first one), but the waiting list is hella long on the library’s website, so it’s probably pretty good.  And it’ll probably hold my interest longer than Wallis Simpson.

The Evolution of Maya Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

evomara

I read the first book of this series last year, The Unbecoming of Maya Dyer, and I loved it.  Of course it took a while for the second one to come out, and then even longer for it to hit the library shelves.  But guess what?  I was at the library on a good day and happened to spot it before anyone else.  The first one left off with a ton of questions, which I’m sure won’t be completely answered in this sequel, but I’m excited anyway.  A lot more excited than I was for Wallis Simpson.

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

The Scorch Trials

Yet another highly anticipated sequel that I’ve been waiting for since I finished the first book The Maze Runner a couple of months ago.  When I finished that first sci-fi dystopian eBook, I put my name on the long waiting list for The Scorch Trials right away because I knew it would be a long time before it would come to me.  But the email notification came yesterday, and I’m ready to get back into that frightening world.  A lot more frightening than Wallis Simpson.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Dianne Wynne Jones

9780064410342_custom-e57e27a93f1edb37c1d30affd48bb09e03773e2f-s6-c10

This book came out years ago – 1986 – and it’s apparently one of the best fantasy books ever written.  Or so people say.  A few months ago I decided that I wanted to read it, thinking I could easily find it at the library.  Well, I couldn’t.  It was always checked out, and there was a long waiting list for it on the website.  But I put my name down anyway and then sort of forgot about it until I got the email yesterday that it was available.  So now I get to see what the fuss is all about.  More fuss than Wallis Simpson, that’s for sure.

So just let me get through these four books, and then maybe I’ll rethink my whole “Read Different” slogan.  I still want to read Pride & Prejudice – I’m really committing myself to that one – and I’ll still check out other sections of the library just in case something interesting pops up.  But I simply cannot ignore YA books.  YA flows through my veins, and there’s no cutting off the supply.

YA 4 EVAH.  Word.

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

2 thoughts on “Didn’t Even Last a Month

  1. You either really like Howle’s or you really don’t. I’ve loved it for years. Sophie is my kind of gal. When your done you may want to check out the Gibli movie version of the story. It’s different, but still sweet.

    I’ve tried to read Scorch Trials 3 times now; can’t get past the first 2 chapters. You go girl.

Leave a Reply

