Posted in Reading Books

“You’re 15 Books Behind Schedule”

This is what I’m greeted to when I visit my what used to be awesome Goodreads home page.  Each year I give myself a goal of 100 books to read, and because I came up short last year, reading 97 books (I blame the flu at the end of the year), I thought for sure 2013 would be my year.  But so far it’s proved to be, for lack of a better word, TOTALLY LAME.

I actually started off the year fairly well, reading five books in January, but I was still behind my pace, and things just got worse as time went on.  I read for in February, three in March, and so far just one this month.  So as Goodreads loves to tell me, I’m 15 books behind schedule.  Which means by now I should have already read 28 books as opposed to the 13 I so pathetically managed to finish.

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 12.55.32 PM

Numbers don’t lie…

What’s worse is that three books I sat on the waiting list for at the library – Requiem by Lauren Oliver, Palace of Stone by Shannon Hale, and Boundless by Cynthia Hand – all became available, got sent to my Kindle, and then got left to expire after three weeks without me even glancing at them.

9593913

Guess we’re going back on the waiting list…

There are a couple of reasons for this lack of reading.  One is that I have been trying to dabble in different genres, as stated in this previous post, and I haven’t exactly been too interested in the stuff I’ve found.  Another reason is that I’ve been awfully distracted with catching up on TV and playing silly games on my iPhone – a horrible excuse, I know, but the truth.  I just haven’t been in the “must read this in two days” frame of mind.

But despite all that, I have read a few books so far this year that I’ve absolutely gobbled up, so it hasn’t been a total loss.  And after today’s trip to the library, I hope to get back into the swing of things and become the reader I once was.  Some bright moments:

The Evolution of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin

12950372More often than not, sequels never really live up to their predecessors, but that wasn’t the case with this book.  I loved the first book in this series, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, and I may have liked this one even more.  It deals with hauntings and psych hospitals and of course romance, and I was heartbroken when I finished it, only because I have to wait until October to read the final book.  And of course it ended on that kind of note.  You know the kind I’m talking about.  The “oh God, don’t end there” variety.  But oh-so good.

Across the Universe – Beth Revis

Across-the-Universe_Beth-Revis

To be honest, I didn’t think I was going to like this book as much as I did.  It’s more sci-fi than fantasy, and I don’t have much experience in sci-fi (except when I’m watching Battlestar Galactica).  But I really loved this book.  I loved the mix of sci-fi and romance and dystopia, and I thought the characters were interesting.  And of course I developed a teeny crush on the main boy character, which hasn’t really happened since Peeta.  So, yay.

Between Shades of Gray – Ruta Sepetys

7824322

Let’s start off by getting one thing straight:  this book is NOT about dominatrix.  In fact, it’s pretty much about the exact opposite of the other shades of gray book that other people may be reading.  This one takes place during WWII when thousands of Lithuanians were being forced in to labor camps in Russia, all from the point of view of a young teenage girl.  It’s not a light and easy book to read, given the subject matter, and nothing is sugar-coated.  But it’s an extremely well-written story about a part of history that’s rarely spoken of.  Which of course means ya’ll need to read it.  Like, now.

So those are the three books that have stood out so far this year.  I hope to be adding a lot more to that list starting TODAY.  Because there’s still time to hit that 100-book mark…I just have to pretend that technology doesn’t exist.

1356116829-1356116829_goodreads_misc

What good stuff have you read so far this year?

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

