Posted in Reading Books

Books for Every Mood – For a Good Laugh

Back in the days when Borders was still open, I bought a book from their bargain book section called 1001 Books for Every Mood.  It was only $3.99, and it’s exactly what it sounds like.  Every mood you could ever be in?  Well, there’s a book for that!  Of course I wasn’t familiar with a lot of the 1001 books mentioned, and of course there were some I felt were missing.  So I’ve decided to create my own Books for Every Mood – not 1001 of them, but how ever many I can think of based on what I’ve read.

1001-Books-Mood-760293

I’ll be writing about one mood/one book per post so I don’t overload you with information, and then I can focus more on the book.  So if you like to laugh, this is the post for you.  I’m not who has read a lot of funny books – probably because I read a lot of young adult lit, and funny stuff isn’t usually a focus – but one definitely stands out as holy-crap-this-shiz-is-funny.

Bridget Jones’ Diary – Helen Fielding

227443

I remember when I read this book for the first time I had just moved into my first apartment in Los Angeles and I was feeling really stressed out and homesick.  I desperately needed something to cheer me up, so my roommate lent me her copy of Bridget Jones’ Diary.  I had seen the movie, which I enjoyed, and figured the book would be pretty much the same.  But you know what?  It was 100 times better…and FUNNIER.  Seriously, I don’t think a book has made me laugh as much as that one did.  The diary entries were written so brilliantly and realistically, yet funnier than anything else I had read before.  Of course it’s a feel-good book, too, and a book about the journey of improving oneself, but no one had ever written it as humorously as this.

9780143117131_p0_v1_s260x420

Bridget Jones is a woman in her 30s living in London who struggles with things that many women do:  love life, weight, family, and bad habits she’s trying to break, like smoking and drinking less.  She records her progress (or lack of) in her diary, and even though she fails at many things, you can’t help but love her because she’s so hopelessly real.  The book was based on Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, with the heroine struggling to find her place in this world, particularly finding someone to share it with, and even though Lizzie Bennett was nowhere near as funny as Bridget Jones, they both end up happy and with the man they truly love.

la-jc-casting-the-classics-photos-015

And if you’re referring to the movie versions of each, they both end up with Colin Firth.

So if you’re ever feeling down in the dumps or stressed out or just feel the need to laugh at someone else’s life other than your own, run on over to the library and check this book out.  I promise you will laugh out loud, and hopefully will feel better, at least during the time it takes you to read 271 pages.

“Resolution number one: Obviously will lose twenty pounds. Number two: Always put last night’s panties in the laundry basket. Equally important, will find sensible boyfriend to go out with and not continue to form romantic attachments to any of the following: alcoholics, workaholics, commitment phobic’s, peeping toms, megalomaniacs, emotional fuckwits or perverts. And especially will not fantasize about a particular person who embodies all these things.”

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

2 thoughts on “Books for Every Mood – For a Good Laugh

  1. I love your new blog format! I haven’t read it in a little while…sorry…(or written a blog post of my own–shame on me), so maybe you actually changed it a while ago :o/ Anyway, this is an awesome idea!!

Leave a Reply

