Posted in Learning Things, Living Life

My Thoughts About the Weather

As I type this, thousands of Minnesotans are complaining about the weather.  I guess they have every right to do so – I mean, it’s May 3 and it’s SNOWING outside.  Granted it’s a wet snow that is melting as soon as it hits the ground, but it’s still snow, and it’s still May.  It shouldn’t be snowing in May.

The sun should be shining and the flowers should be blooming, rain should be falling and thunder should be booming.

I just totally wrote that poem myself.  Jealous?  Of course you are.

Minnesota - Mpls. Bike Path Spring 3 LR

Anyway, I should let you know right now that I’m a total weather geek.  Seriously, I GEEK OUT when it comes to anything involving atmospheric activity.  When I was a kid and everyone else wanted to be ballerinas and veterinarians, I wanted to study the weather.  I used to read books about tornados and hurricanes and snow and thought they were the most interesting books ever.  I loved winter because it because it brought us snow – sometimes lots of it – and I loved summer because it brought us thunderstorms – sometimes crazy ones.  And of course I thought fall and spring were perfect because they were both gorgeous and amazing in their own ways.

bbb09d2f21fc8e4c9bdf468d8b83c37d

Then after college I moved to California and all that disappeared.  When I told people that I had moved to CA, one of the first things they would always say was “Oh, you must have great weather all the time.”  And you know what?  It’s true.  I had great weather pretty much all of the time.  But you know what “all the time” also means?  It means it becomes BORING.

Now, some people may disagree with me.  I know people who are happy with 300 days of sunshine a year and get upset when it’s cloudy the other 65 days.  And that’s fine.  But for me, having good weather all the time gets so old and boring that I tend to develop the opposite of SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder) and get depressing when there’s no change in the weather.

il_570xN.267137386_large

Oh sure, at first it was great having 80 degree days in December and January.  It was nice to know that I could plan outdoor activities without having to worry about whether it would rain or not.  But believe me, that got old really quickly.  Suddenly the holidays felt weird because there wasn’t any snow on the ground and the coldest it got was 50 degrees.  I started to forget what it was like when the leaves start to change and when the grass grows back.  I found myself longing for a loup clap of thunder on a warm summer night, or hell, even a snow day or two.

supercell_thunderstorm

I MISSED WHAT REAL WEATHER WAS.

What I love so much about the change in seasons is that it always gives you something to look forward to.  After those long winter months, just when you’ve “had it up to here with winter”, spring arrives.  And after you can barely stand one more hot summer day, fall suddenly arrives and cools everything down.  It really is a constant cycle that always keeps you on your toes, always keeps you looking ahead.

You can’t do that in California, at least not really.  What they call “winter” is still mostly sunny days (depending on where you live), sprinkled every now and then with “STORM WATCH”, which happens when a couple of raindrops fall from the sky.  Seriously, the most excited I ever got about “weather” is when I lived near the ocean and the heavy fog would roll in.  That was pretty much as close to interesting atmospheric phenomena that I got.  And despite what people tell you, there’s no such thing as “earthquake weather”.  And wildfires, while triggered by hot Santa Winds, don’t count as weather, at least not in my book.  Wildfires are FIRE and they suck.

image004

Luckily I after eleven long years I was reunited with the good ol’ Midwest weather system, which meant I got to enjoy stifling hot, humid summer nights and cool, crisp autumn afternoons and cold, snowy winter days…and hopefully soon I’ll see spring once again pop up underneath all this weird May snow we’re getting today.

snow_mn_may0213

So even though the weather does kind of suck right now, you won’t hear me complaining too much.  Do I want to slip on a t-shirt and shorts and go for a walk outside while I sip on cold iced tea?  Of course I do.  And I know I will be able to do that soon.  But I’d rather wait for it to come at the right time rather than do it on Christmas morning with the sun beating down on me.

So bring it on, Mother Nature.  You know I don’t mind.  Just, you know, get it out of the way quickly before it’s suddenly November again and we all missed out on summer completely.

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

