Posted in Checking Stuff Out, Reading Books

My Awesome Library Book Sale Haul

The one thing I love about the Hennepin County Library System is that you’re guaranteed a book sale at a different library every weekend.  And my favorite sale is the one at the Eden Prairie library, which happens a few times a year.  They have a huge selection of books, and I’ve had the best luck there so far.  So when I saw that they were having a sale this past weekend, I contacted my library sale friend and told her we were going.

Eden_Prairie_Library,_November_2011

The usual schedule for a library sale is to open on a Thursday or Friday, and then end on Sunday with a bag sale where you pay $5 to fill your bag.  I usually never go to the bag sales because by Sunday most of the good stuff is gone and I can’t really find anything to fill my bag with.  So when my friend and I went last Saturday, I was just expected to pay the $1.00 per book like I usually do, hoping to find a few books that I want to add to my collection.  But that wasn’t going to be the case…

When we got there at 11:30, we were informed that the library was shutting down for a half hour and reopening at noon to begin a bag sale, limit two bags per person.  A bag sale!  On a Saturday!  I was thrilled!  And pretty confident that I’d be able to fill up one bag.

Well, I didn’t fill up one bag.  I filled up two bags.  These things were PACKED.  Finally after being in there for almost an hour the lady running the sale told me that I had to LEAVE because apparently other people needed to have a chance at getting in and filling their bags.  My friend and I giggled at each other, thinking “Oh my God, we just got kicked out of a library sale for LOVING BOOKS TOO MUCH”, but it was cool.  I was done with my shopping anyway, since nothing else would fit in my bags.

969443_10151497852277713_452605917_n

So, obviously I scored.  I grabbed some books that I’ve already read but wouldn’t mind owning, some that I’ve heard of and have wanted to read, and some that I’ve never heard of that I’d like to read someday.  If it fit, it was mine.  Here’s the run-down of my book haul:

photo-4

The group of books that I’ve already read but liked so much that they’re worth owning.

photo-1

The books I’ve heard of that I’ve wanted to read / own.

photo-2

The books I’ve never heard of but sound interesting.

photo-3

And one for my daughter.  Because Eloise is awesome.

I don’t know if I’ll get that lucky at a book sale again, but there’s definitely nothing wrong with trying!  Seriously, if you want to beef up your book collection without spending tons of money, find out when your local library is having a book sale.  It supports both your library AND your crazy habit.  Win-win!!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

