Posted in Drinking Tea

These Are a Few of My Favorite Teas

It’s probably safe to say that I love all teas.  Tea is tea, and I love everything about it.  I do, however, have some I can consider to be favorites of mine, the ones I tend to go back to after venturing out and trying others.  So if you’re new to tea, or want to try something different, then here’s the list for you!  And here’s an added plus – they’re not expensive!  Well, except for one, which is also really hard to find in it’s pure form unless you happen to be in China.  But all the others can be found at your local grocery stores.

Tazo Rest (Herbal)

51Zl1zMlE7LThe great thing about herbal teas is that you can drink them at night without worrying about the caffeine keeping you up for hours (something you start thinking about the older you get, trust me).  I first noticed this tea at Whole Foods because the packaging was pink due to the rose petals in it.  But also contains Lemon balm, honeybush, orange peel, lemon myrtle, lemon verbena, licorice root, lavender, valerian root, natural flavors, ginger, orange essence oil and Chinese geranium oil.  And all those work together to help people rest at the end of a busy day and fall asleep easier.  Oh, and it tastes super good, too.

Kirkland Green Tea Matcha Blend (Green)

itoen2I’ve tried many many green teas in my day, and while I usually love them all, one of my favorites is the kind you can buy in bulk at Costco, which is the last place I expected to find a good green tea.  But the flavor is really good – not too bitter, but not too weak, either – and it comes with the matcha powder (which is typical of Japanese green teas but not usually found in green teas sold at stores) that enhances the flavor a bit.  The bags are made of nylon which allows easy flow even if they’re not as environmentally friendly as other tea bags.  But still a pretty excellent choice of green tea.

Bigalow Earl Grey (Black)

Bigelow-Tea-Earl-Grey-Tea-072310001237All you have to do is tear open the package and inhale to know that this is a really good tea.  I usually drink my black tea iced, but lately I’ve been making it hot because of the Bigalow sample pack I got from my mother-in-law.  The Earl Grey tea is super fragrant due to the bergamot in it, and that carries over to the taste once water is added.  It tastes really good, and you can’t help but feel a little dignified as you sip a tea that the royals tend to sip during their afternoon tea.

Chinese Pu-erh Tea (Dark Tea)

Chinese_Raw_Puerh_Tea_CakeOkay, so this is the hard-to-get tea that I mentioned before.  You can probably find it in specialty stores, but the kind I have actually came from China.  My MIL went to China a few months ago and came back raving about this miracle tea that’s supposed to be the healthiest tea out there, and also one of the most expensive.  It comes packed into a hockey puck-like shape, and while the size of it varies, the ones I got are about an inch across.  You treat it like loose tea by putting it into an infuser in a pot and then pouring hot water over it to let it steep.  The disc comes apart and becomes a loose tea, slowly infusing into the water and becoming tea.  The taste was really weird at first because it’s not a black or green or herbal tea – it doesn’t taste like any of those.  It’s considered to a be a dark tea, and at first it tasted a little like grass and hay.  But I quickly got used to it, and now I love it.  For all the health benefits, read here.

Celestial Seasonings Honey Vanilla Chamomile (Herbal)

58573Chamomile has long been known to help with calming down and sleep, and I’ve always enjoyed the comforting, floral, cake-battery taste of it.  But when you add in bits of honey and vanilla, the taste just takes off.  It’s the perfect thing to have at the end of your day when you’re curled up in bed with a book, especially during the cold winter months or a chilly rainy day.

Tazo Zen (Green)

s0716908_sc7I usually drink just straight green tea, but sometimes I want a little extra flavor in it just to change things up.  There are a lot of different flavored green teas on the market (Lipton, for example, has a ton, including its “Superfruit” green teas), but the one I tend to enjoy the most is Tazo’s Zen Green Tea.  Besides your local grocery store, this is one of the two green teas that Starbucks serves at their shops (China Green Tips being the other, which I also enjoy).  Zen contains lemon grass, lemon verbena, and spearmint (so it’s not so lemony), and is just the right combo to boost your energy while still making you feel relaxed, if that makes sense.  And unlike some other minty teas, it doesn’t leave you feeling thirsty.

If you’re a fan of tea like me, I highly recommend branching out and trying new teas.  You don’t have to spend a lot of money doing it, and you may discover a new tea that might even become your new favorite.

Does anyone else have any good tea suggestions?

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

