Posted in Catching TV

TV Worth Crying About

Guess what, folks?  There’s nothing wrong with crying.  In fact, studies have shown that crying once in a while (just not all the time) is a healthy way to release emotion.  And what better way to release that built-up emotion than in front of a good TV show?

A couple of years ago I wrote about certain moments in TV that have made me cry, but I barely touched upon what is out there.  So I’m back to share with you some more moments that will probably make you shed some tears as well, given you’re not a some kind of cyborg who feels NOTHING.*

*You know who you are.

The TV show:  Doctor Who

The Episode:  “Vincent and the Doctor”

The Moment:  The Curator’s Speech

Of all the weepy moments that Doctor Who has thrown at my face, this one probably produces the most tears.  In this episode The Doctor and Amy have gone back in time to the age of Vincent Van Gogh who, at that time, was just a struggling artist who no one knew or appreciated.  Knowing that Van Gogh later ends up committing suicide, Amy thinks that they can change Vincent’s fate by take him back to the future to visit an art institute where his works are prominent.

doctor-who-vincent-van-gogh-e1305009078131

While there, Van Gogh overhears the curator (played beautifully by Bill Nighy) talk about Van Gogh’s impact on the world, which brings tears to Van Gogh’s eyes (and mine…like now…as I’m typing this).  In that moment you think – as does Amy – that because now that he knows this, he won’t end up killing himself.  He knows his worth, and that’s worth saving.  But despite that, nothing changes.  Van Gogh still ends up committing suicide, and we’re all left in a pool full of tears.

Vincent14

“He transformed the pain of his tormented life into ecstatic beauty.  Pain is easy to portray, but to use your passion and pain to portray the ecstasy and joy and magnificence of our world…no one had ever done it before.  Perhaps no one ever will again.  To my mind, that strange, wild man who roamed the fields of Provence was not only the world’s greatest artist, but also one of the greatest men who ever lived.”

The TV show:  Supernatural

The Episode:  “All Hell Breaks Loose Part 1”

The Moment:  Sam Dies (For the first time)

News flash, everyone.  We don’t watch Supernatural for the demons and ghosts.  We don’t even watch it for the music which, admittedly, is awesome.  No, we watch Supernatural because of Sam and Dean.  It’s their relationship that has made us laugh and – duh – cry, and it’s their relationship that keeps us going.  And because this show is only second to Gilmore Girls in terms of amount of tears shed, I had plenty of sad moments to choose from.  In this particular one, part one of the two-part season two finale, brothers Sam and Dean are in what is rumored to be the most haunted place in America.  A bunch of stuff happens – a bunch of stuff that will take way too long to explain (just watch the episode, people), but in the end Sam ends up dying.  Of course I use that term loosely, because if you know that this show has been on for 8 seasons so far you know that Sam doesn’t die, but still…this is the first time he dies and it’s one of the hardest to take.  Mainly because of Dean.

Supernatural 2x22 0701

Dean isn’t what you’d call “emotional”, but he sure nails it during this scene.  He’s holding his dying brother in his arms and basically telling him everything he’s been meaning to say ever since they were kids.  It’s touching and depressing and totally real, which is why this show makes me frickin’ cry all the damn time.

samdies

“You know when we were little, you couldn’t have been more than five, you just started asking questions. ‘How come we didn’t have Mom?’; ‘Why do we always have to move around?’; ‘Where’d Dad go?’. He’d take off for days at a time.  “I remember I begged you to stop asking. Man, you don’t want to know. I just wanted you to be a kid, for just a little while longer. I was trying to protect you. Keep you safe. Dad didn’t even have to tell me. It was just always my responsibility, you know? It’s like I had one job. That one job. And I screwed it up. “I blew it. And for that I’m sorry. I guess that’s what I do, I let down the people I love. I let Dad down…and now I guess I’m just supposed to let you down too.  How can I? How am I supposed to live with that? What am I supposed to do? Sammy…what am I supposed to do?  WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO?”

 The TV show:  Sherlock

The Episode:  “The Reichenbach Fall”

The Moment:  Sherlock’s “Death”

As with Supernatural, the main focus of this show is the relationship between Sherlock and John Watson.  We love these two guys together, and we’d hate for anything to break up what they have.  Which is why the end of The Reichenbach Fall is so hard to watch.  Just after we’ve eaten up every word the wonderfully evil Moriarty has said to Sherlock on the rooftop of St. Bartholomew’s Hospital, ending with Moriarty’s shot to his own head, our thoughts turn to Sherlock and what he’s going to do next.  Deep down we know, and deep down it makes us want to throw up.  He calls Watson, the only person in his life he probably truly loves, and says his goodbye.  Watson says no, we’re saying no, no no no no no no no no no.  And then Sherlock looks down.

sherlock-roof

The next thing we know Sherlock’s bloody body is on the ground and John is kneeling next to him and we’re balling our eyes out.  By the time we see John at Sherlock’s grave telling him “don’t be dead” we’re such a mess that we almost miss the fact that SHERLOCK IS STANDING RIGHT THERE BEHIND THAT TREE.

WTF??????

To be continued whenever the hell Series Three is going to bloody air.

reichenbach

“Um. Hm. You… you told me once that you weren’t a hero. Um. There were times that I didn’t even think you were human. But let me tell you this, you were the best man and the most human…. human being that I have ever known, and no one will ever convince me that you told me a lie. And so… there. I was so alone and I owe you so much. Please, there’s just one more thing. One more thing. One more miracle, Sherlock, for me. Don’t be… dead. Would you do that, just for me? Just stop it, stop this.”

The TV show:  The Walking Dead

The Episode:  “Pretty Much Dead Already”

The Moment:  Sophia Is Found

The first half of season Two of The Walking Dead was pretty much devoted to finding Sophia, the little girl in their small group of survivors that had disappeared in the first episode of that season.  And like the survivors, we viewers sort of lost faith that Sophia was ever going to be found because, well, you know, because of the WALKERS and all.  And then one afternoon on the farm where they had found refuge they discover that the barn is filled with hundreds of walkers.  Scary, right?  And Shane, who is totally insane to begin with, goes nutso and shoots the lock off the barn door because WALKERS AREN’T PEOPLE and he needs to get rid of them all.

walkingdeadprettymuchdead

But what do you suppose is the first thing that comes out of that unlocked barn door?  That’s right.  Little Sophia.  But it’s not Sophia anymore.  She’s a walker now.  We should have expected that, but honestly we didn’t AT ALL, and we’re like, “Oh, crap, they’ve been looking for her for months and it’s SOPHIA and you just can’t kill her…”  But we all might as well have shut up then because with barely even a thought Rick pulls out his gun and shoots Sophia in the head.

618_ustv_walking_dead_dead_already_01

This scene – as fast as it actually happened – was so hard to watch, and so hard to listen to because all you really hear is the sobbing of Sophia’s mom when everything else is silent.  And then it’s just pure shock.  It’s…just…ugh.  Tears.

The TV show:  Gilmore Girls

The Episode:  They Shoot Gilmores, Don’t They

The Moment:  Rory and Dean Break Up

I wrote about a sad Gilmore moment before, but since it’s my favorite show of ALL TIME, I have to write about it again.  This time we go back to when Rory and Dean were my favorite couple in the world and I never wanted them to break up.  Seriously!  I thought they were ADORBS.  And then JESS had to go f*** everything up.  Jess with his crappy attitude and his books with the notes written in the margins.  UGH.

3-07-They-Shoot-Gilmores-Don-t-They-rory-and-jess-6495064-1024-768

Rory and Lorelei are participating in the annual Stars Hallow Dance Marathon when all of this nonsense occurs.  Rory has tried not to fall for Jess, but clearly she’s failed and she can’t deny it anymore.  Dean ultimately knows this but doesn’t want to admit it, either, until it’s obvious he just can’t be second best anymore.  So Dean snaps and announces to the whole dance crowd that Rory and Jess like each other and that he’s D-O-N-E with being Rory’s boyfriend.  And that’s when I start shedding the tears.  Rory starts crying and runs to her mom, and of course whenever I see Rory cry, I have to cry.  I know, I shouldn’t get attached to these characters, but I’m attached to Rory Gilmore and that girl can make me cry like no other, like she’s my own daughter.  I’m kind of a mess as the episode ends and the credits roll.  Damn you, Jess.

3x07-They-Shoot-Gilmores-Dont-They-gilmore-girls-9747055-720-480-400x266

“Everyone can see, Rory! Everyone. And I’m tired, but I’m over it, so go ahead, go. Be together. There’s nothing standing in your way now, ’cause I’m out.”

The TV show:  Avatar: The Last Airbender

The Episode:  “Tales of Bai Sing Se”

The Moment:  The Tale of Iroh

Oh, you didn’t think animated shows (or cartoons to some of you people) could make you cry?  Well, you’d be wrong.  Avatar: The Last Airbender is one of the greatest shows, like, EVER, and while it was fun and adventurous and funny, it was also really heart-wrenching at times.  In Book Two (season two) there is an episode of mini-episodes, or vignettes.  And one of those vignettes is called “The Tale of Iroh”, which is about everyone’s favorite Uncle.  It’s all nice and sweet until the final scene when Iroh builds a shrine for his son’s tenth birthday – Lu Ten, his only son who died in the Siege of Ba Sing Se.  Iroh confesses that he wished he could have helped Lu Ten but that his death helped him become a better person. Iroh then starts singing a horribly depressing song called “Leaves from the Vine”, but he can’t finish it because he starts crying.

RM1Yb

Um, yes.  It’s totally sad.  Iroh is such an awesome character, and to see him at his weakest moment is absolutely heart-breaking.  Oh, and the kicker?  The tale was dedicated to Mako, the Japanese actor who provided the voice of Iroh, who had passed away two months prior to the episode airing.  Snot and tears all over my face.

tumblr_m2mkxdzqxC1qk7fomo1_500

“Leaves from the vine/ falling so slow/ like fragile, tiny shells/ drifting in the foam/ Little soldier boy/ come marching home/ Brave soldier boy/ comes marching home.”

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

