Posted in Reading Books, The Awesome 13

The Awesome 13 – Summer Reading!

Today is May 31, which in my world is the unofficial start of the Summer Reading Season.  The season lasts exactly three months and ends on August 31…because if you’ve read my past blog posts you should know that September 1 is the unofficial start of the Harry Potter Reading Season! (duh…because that’s when the Hogwarts Express takes off!)

HogwartsExpress

All aboard!

Since I like to make goals (whether I reach them or not is still debatable), I set a goal of 13 books to read this summer.  Why 13?  Well, it’s my favorite number.  I obviously like to make lists of 13.  And also…three months equal exactly 13 weeks, and I figure I’ll be nice and give myself one week per book.  Of course if I happen to read more than one book per week, that’s totally okay.  I’m still way behind on my Goodreads goal, so anyway to catch up is awesome.  But for the purpose of this post, let’s just leave it at 13 books for the summer so I can have something to shoot for.

I’ve also made a pretty bold decision regarding what books I’m going to read.  Since I have about three shelves of books that I own that haven’t been read, I’ve decided to forego anything I see at the library and just read the Unread Books I Own (UBIO).  Otherwise, if I keep checking out books from the library, those UBIOs are just going to keep sitting there looking totally sad and unwanted, and I just can’t have that (unless it’s Anna Karenina which, unfortunately, will continue to sit there looking totally sad and unwanted until ALL OTHER BOOKS ARE READ).

anna-karenina

Never gonna happen.

So now is the time to pick out what I’ll be reading this summer.  Of course a lot of the time I’m motivated by my mood, but for now I’ll make out a rough draft, if you will, of my reading schedule starting with today.

103459271.  A Million Suns by Beth Revis (May 31-June 8)

2.  Bunheads by Sophie Flack (June 9-June 15)

3.  Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly (June 16-June 22)

102618124.  The Space Between by Breanna Yovanoff (June 23-29)

5.  Hourglass by Myra McIntyre (June 30-July 6)

6.  The Eternal Ones by Kristen Miller (July 7-July 13)

93009607.  All You Desire by Kirsten Miller (July 14-July 20)*

8.  These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer (July 21-July 27)

9.  Immortal Beloved by Cate Tiernan (July 28-August 3)

797703710.  Darkness Falls by Cate Tiernan (August 4-August 10)

11.  Ten Cents a Dance by Christine Fletcher (August 11-August 17)

12.  A Curse Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce (August 18-August 24)

13.  Ruined by Paula Morris (August 24-August 31)

There’s probably a 99% chance that this list will change, but at least it gives me something to go by.  Also, I will make an exception for FOUR books that I have been looking for if I find them at the library, and those are Lauren DeStefano’s Sever, Lauren Oliver’s Requiem, Kiera Cass’s The Elite, and Cynthia Hand’s Bounded.  I’ve been looking for these books for quite a long time, and if I do see them at the library, you can bet that I’ll snatch them up right away.

images

I will find you!

So that’s pretty much my summer in a bookshell (hehe).  Have you made any summer reading goals?

*The week I’ll be at Comic-Con!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

