Posted in Reading Books

More Board Books to Drool Over (Not On)

A while back I wrote about this adorable series of board books for kids that I totally want on my bookshelf because they’re so beautiful and awesome.  Well, that time has come again…this time in the form of FAIRYTALES!!!

photo-9

Authors extraordinaire Trixie Belle and Melissa Caruso-Scott and illustrator Oliver Lake are the ones to blame for my new obsession.  The books are called Les Petits Fairytales, and while they are written in the simplest form of storytelling – one descriptive word per page – I CAN’T STOP LOOKING AT THEM.

photo

I love illustrated books, and right now these take the cake.  Why?  Because THEY ARE SO DARN CUTE.  I mean, really.  I want to curl up in bed with these books and just stare at them because I simply cannot get enough of the cuteness.  I want to make a blanket out of these books just so I can wrap myself up in cuddly cuteness.  Despite the fact that they’re made of rather hard material.

I originally discovered these at the library (DUH) when I noticed an adorable Cinderella staring up at me.  I opened it up and suddenly fell in love with Oliver Lake’s illustrations.  Because, really.  THIS.

photo-1

I kept Cinderella for as long as I could until I returned it.  And then checked it out again.  Just seeing it on my pile of books made me happy.  But knowing that there was more than just Cinderella available, I needed more.

Luckily during a trip to the library a couple of days ago with my daughter I was able to find not only Cinderella (AGAIN), but also Sleeping Beauty, The Little Mermaid, and Beauty and the Beast.  The library didn’t have Snow White or Rapunzel (DAMN DAMN), but I was happy with the four I found.

photo-2

My daughter and I quickly devoured the books when we got home.  She thinks that she “made” me read them all to her five times, but there was no “making” me do anything.  Nay, I was totally willing to read these as many times as she wanted.  BECAUSE THEY’RE FREAKING AWESOME.  Well.  And they take about ten seconds to read.  Whatever.

photo-3

Another thing I love besides the illustrations are the fact that the words they use in the books aren’t silly words like “CAT” or “CHAIR” or boring stuff that smart kids already know.  In these books the authors would rather use words like “FRIENDSHIP” and “WALTZ”.  Just to, you know, make your kid way more intellectual than the other kids at the park.

photo-4

I know you’re probably thinking, “Wow, dude, they’re BOARD BOOKS.  Why so insane?”  Well, because when I see good illustration that makes me drool, I want to shout about it to the world.  Which is why there are so many all-caps words in this post.  I’m not sorry.

photo-5photo-6

photo-7photo-8

They all get their man, of course.

Seriously, guys.  You don’t need to have tots or babies or whatever to get these books.  So get ‘em before I hoard them all…’cause I will.

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

2 thoughts on “More Board Books to Drool Over (Not On)

  1. They sound (and look!) awesome. I have sent this post to my mom, because she is always on the lookout for fabulous children’s books to collect and gift to people. Or save boxes of them for when we eventually get married and have kids. Hasn’t happened yet, but I suppose it will someday. : ) Thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

