Posted in Geeking Out

SDCC ’13: Let the Madness Begin

Over the weekend the full San Diego Comic-Con 2013 schedule was released to the public, and once again it’s going to be a doozy of a convention.  That’s right, I said DOOZY.  And “doozy” in SDCC terms is code for “will be getting absolutely no sleep whatsoever”.  But honestly, the people who think they’re actually going to get a decent night’s sleep at SDCC are either fooling themselves, or they’re not doing SDCC right.

So in exactly 10 days, SDCC will be open.  And assuming all goes according to plan, here’s my schedule:

Thursday, 7/18/13

10:00 am – Intelligence – Ballroom 20

11:00 am – Star-Crossed – Ballroom 20

12:00 pm – Beauty and the Beast – Ballroom 20

1:00 pm – Psych – Ballroom 20

2:15 pm – Sherlock – Ballroom 20

3:30 pm – The X-Files 20th Anniversary – Ballroom 20

4:45 pm – Entertainment Weekly’s Brave New Warriors (feat. Matt Smith from Doctor Who, Kit Harrington from Game of Thrones, and Steven Yeun from The Walking Dead, among others) – Ballroom 20

dirt-dave-and-gill

So yes, I will be camped out in Ballroom 20 all day on Thursday, mostly because I want to see the Sherlock panel (no Freeman or Cumberbatch, but still excited), and the X-Files anniversary panel with David Duchcovny and Gillian Anderson.  Because of that, I’ll have to sit through panels that I don’t have much interest in – the first four that day – but if I want to see Sherlock and The X-Files, I have to get there really early.

Friday, 7/19/13

10:00 am – Inside The Big Bang Theory Writer’s Room – Ballroom 20

11:15 am – The Legend of Korra – Ballroom 20

12:30 pm – Bones – Ballroom 20

1:45 pm – Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – Ballroom 20

the-legend-of-korra

Luckily Friday is a bit of a lighter day for us, which *might* give us a chance to catch a couple hours of sleep.  The main panel for me that day is The Legend of Korra, which means I have to sit through a Big Bang Theory panel that won’t even have any of the actors present (which is fine, since I don’t even watch the show).  We’ll stay through Bones, which we haven’t watched in about four years, because we want to see Joss Whedon and his Avengers spin-off TV show.  After that panel we’ll probably head to the Exhibition floor to check out all the booths since we’ll be tied up in Hall H for the next two days…

Saturday, 7/20/13

10:45 am – Warner Bros. and Legendary Pictures, feat. Godzilla, Seventh Son, 300: Rise of an Empire, Gravity, and The LEGO Movie – Hall H

1:35 pm – Lionsgate, feat. I, Frankenstein and The Hunger Games: Catching Fire – Hall H

2:55 pm – Entertainment Weekly’s Women Who Kick Ass, feat. Michelle Rodriguez, Tatiana Maslany, and Danai Gurira – Hall H

4:15 pm – 20th Century Fox – The schedule says “TBD”, but I’m really hoping they’ll have X-Men: Days of Future Past – Hall H

6:00 pm – Marvel Studios, feat. Thor: The Dark World and Captain America: The Winter Soldier – Hall H

9:30 pm – The Nerdist Podcast Live, feat. special guest Matt Smith – Balboa Theater

220px-Thor_-_The_Dark_World_poster

I’m kind of bummed that The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug had to pull out of SDCC, but I’m actually really excited for all of these panels (well, except for maybe the EW one, which I’m kind of meh about).  Of course as usual the Marvel panel will be the big one – they haven’t announced any actors yet, but Marvel has yet to disappoint at SDCC.  Also, I’m SUPER excited for the Nerdist Podcast – not just because Matt Smith is their guest, but because I just love the three Nerdist guys, Chris Hardwick, Matt Mira, and Jonah Ray.  Last year’s live podcast was probably my favorite part of the entire con, so I can’t wait for this year’s.

Sunday, 7/21/13

10:00 am – Supernatural – Hall H

11:15 am – Breaking Bad – Hall H

12:30 pm – Doctor Who 50th Anniversary – Hall H

o-MATT-SMITH-DAVID-TENNANT-facebook

It’s going to be a very long wait for a pretty short day, but I’d do it for Doctor Who.  I’m excited to see Supernatural, I don’t watch Breaking Bad (but my husband does, so he’s happy), and, well, duh.  Doctor Who.  Matt Smith will be there, obviously, as will his current companion and the creators of the show.  But deep down I’m wishing praying hoping that David Tennant will show up.  He’ll be in the anniversary special, and well, you just never know.  Heads may explode.

See you in ten days!!!!

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

2 thoughts on “SDCC ’13: Let the Madness Begin

  1. I’m so jealous! I’ve never been to SDCC before, but the boyfriend and I are seriously considering going next year. This year’s schedule looks amazing though! The X-Files panel looks amazing as well as the Supernatural one. I’d be eager to also see Teen Wolf and the Veronica Mars one — have you watched either of those shows?

    I read your earlier post that offered some great tips on what to do when you’re at SDCC, but I would love to read a post on the lead-up. For example, tips on buying tickets (I hear they sell out very quickly), places to stay, etc.

Leave a Reply

