Posted in Catching TV, Watching Movies

Crushable, Swoon-Worthy, and…Animated?

A couple of years ago I wrote a post called “Crushing on Fictional Characters”, in which I wrote about…well…fictional characters in books I was crushing on.  Duh.  There have been many literary books that come to life on the pages and make me fall in love with them, and that all comes with excellent writing.  If I like a boy in a book, the author has done their job.

But what about the boys (or girls, whatever) that are in TV or movies but aren’t…real?  As in, not real people?  As in…ANIMATED??  (Please don’t say cartoons.  PLEASE.)

That’s right, I have totally developed crushes on animated characters.  Whether it’s a Disney prince or an evil anime boy, it’s happened.  And that’s all thanks to the brilliant animators and writers behind some of these shows and movies.

So what animated boys leave me crushing?  Here’s a handful of swoon-worthy hand-drawn or computer animated characters that have stolen my real, beating heart.

Prince Phillip (Sleeping Beauty)

Prince-Phillip-sleeping-beauty-6473752-318-266

To this day, Phillip is the only Disney Prince who has made me swoon (though Flynn Rider comes close).  Why is that?  Is it the Gothic-style animation?  Is the color of his glorious golden brown hair?  Is it his personality?  Is it the way he climbs up the stairs to find a sleeping princess and looks at her like she’s the most beautiful thing he’s ever seen?

Sleeping-disneyscreencaps.com-7189

Well, I suppose it’s a little bit of all of that.  And plus, there’s the fact that he can dance.  Remember that scene in Gilmore Girls when Rory and Lorelei are making Dean watching Sleeping Beauty and they say that Phillip is the best Prince, and Dean says, “Because he can dance.”  He claims it’s because he has a little sister that he knows this, but we all know it because it’s totally true.  Prince Phillip can awake me from a 100-year sleep any damn day.

Lion-O (Thundercats)

745px-Lion-o_richie1

If I’m honest, I’m not really talking about the original 80s version of Lion-O.  I mean, he was okay, I guess, but nowhere near the 2011 reboot Lion-O.  Damn, that man-lion thing is sexy.  One thing that changed from the original, and in term helped out Lion-O’s sexiness immensely is instead of being a boy trapped inside a man’s body (because that’s just annoying), now Lion-O is a misunderstood teenager.  Which means lots of brooding looks and stuff.  Which people like.

00-ThunderCats-2011-Lion-O-and-the-Sword-of-Omens

Not to mention he’s got waaaaay better hair now.  Or mane.  He is a lion, right?  Whatever.  I would probably date him, were I also an animated cat-like humanoid android.  If he wasn’t so hung up on Cheetara.  Even though she’s totally hung up on Tygra.  Oh, the drama!

Tuxedo Mask / Darien Shields (Sailor Moon)

Tuxedo-mask-sailor-moon-25225153-498-370

Ah, Darien Shields.  AKA Tuxedo Mask.  AKA Mamoru Chiba / Tuxedo Kamen, if you’re staying true to the original Japanese version.  Whatever you want to call him, you have to at least call him sexy.  Because basically Darien Shields / Tuxedo Mask is like the anime version of Bruce Wayne and Batman.  And that, my friends, is glorious.

images

I used to watch Sailor Moon every morning before school (we’re talking high school, people), and my favorite episodes were always the ones with Tuxedo Mask.  After losing his parents when he was a child (like Bruce Wayne), he eventually develops a dual-identity, unknowingly turning into Tuxedo Mask whenever Serena Tsukino (Sailor Moon) is in trouble.  So he’s always saving the day in his mysterious way, and I eventually developed a teeny little crush on him, even though I wouldn’t have admitted that to anyone back in high school.

Now I really don’t care what people think, and I’m proud to belong to the Tuxedo Mask fandom.  Because you never know when he might come and save you!

Prince Zuko and Jet (Avatar: The Last Airbender)

Zuko_fights_Jet

The only reason I’m lumping these two guys together is because they’re from the same show.  Other than that, they’re totally different.  But both sexy.

Prince Zuko is the misunderstood (there’s that word again) teenage Prince who’s been banned from the Fire Kingdom by his own father, which means Zuko has a TON of issues.  Mostly regarding his family – his mean dad, his missing mom, his crazy evil sister, and his wonderful uncle – but still.  He’s got every right to be angry and pissed off and depressed and upset.  And it’s all those things that make Zuko so lovable.  Seriously, I just want to punch him in the face, tell him it’s all going to be okay, and then hug him.  Forever.

4171889_orig

Oh, but then there’s Jet.  Jet only appeared in two or three episodes throughout the whole series, but he made such an impact that he’s got fangirls up the wahzoo.  First of all, he plays a rebel.  And every girl likes a rebel.  He has a total grudge against the Fire Nation, and rightly so.  The Fire Nation is evil.  Jet does some pseudo-crappy stuff, but it’s all in the name of fighting against the Fire Nation.  Kind of like Robin Hood.  And he’s so suave and charismatic about everything that it’s impossible not to think that everything he’s doing is right.

Jet

Luckily for Zuko, he has a happy ending.  Jet?  Not so much.

Mako (The Legend of Korra)

character_large_332x363_mako

From the same world as Avatar: The Last Airbender but 70 years later, we have Mako, a firebender (but not the evil kind like there was before) who’s described as “dark and brooding”.  And there, my friends, are the magic ingredients for crush-worthy animated characters.

Mako also happens to have great hair (as did Zuko and Jet), which is hard to achieve when it’s animated.  Which just goes to show you that these Airbender animators are HAIR MASTERS.

Mako may be dark and brooding, but he’s also a really good guy, and so far has been a pretty good boyfriend to Korra (oops, was that a spoiler?)  He’s the kind of boyfriend you want to take home to your parents AND have a little fun with.  If you know what I mean.

Korra_and_Mako_kiss

YES I KNOW HE’S ANIMATED.  I’M NOT TOTALLY CRAZY.

What also helps Mako, as well as Jet and Zuko, is their voice.  And that all comes down to the voice actor.  Mako has a sexy voice (thank you, David Faustino).  And just listening to him talk – whether he’s arguing with Korra or telling her he loves her (SWOON), it just works for him.

Ah.  I love Mako.  And his silly scarf.

Prince Shining Armor (My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic)

300px-Shining_Armor

Okay, I know he’s not even a person.  Like, at least Lion-O was humanISH, right?  But I don’t care.  I love Twilight Sparkle’s older brother, Shining Armor.  Why?  I don’t really know.  Is he cute?  Hard to say, as he’s a pony.  Can ponies be attractive?  Well, let’s see.

Um, yes.  I think he qualifies as attractive.  For a pony.  And he’s in uniform!  A Royal Guard!  Every girl likes a man – er, pony – in uniform, right?  And he’s in love with Princess Cadance.  Which automatically makes him pony hot.

tumblr_m6zi6hCbuY1r81vpao1_500

So it’s okay to think he’s attractive.  Don’t worry.  You won’t be the only one.

Marshall Lee (Adventure Time)

Screen_shot_2011-07-27_at_11.52.00_AM

I can’t talk about animated crushes without mentioning at least one person from Adventure Time, since I pretty much have a crush on the whole damn show.  I’ll always have a soft spot for Finn, but when I first saw Marshall Lee…oh damn.

In the amazing episode “Fionna and Cake”, all of the characters switch genders.  Finn becomes Fionna, Jake becomes Cake, Princess Bubblegum becomes Prince Bubblegum, and so on.  But my favorite gender switch came from my favorite character, Marceline the Vampire Queen, who became Marshall Lee the Vampire King.

Marshall Lee, like Marceline, can sing and play the guitar (sexy).  He’s 18, slim, has black hair, and dresses like a hipster.  And he’s just a little bit evil.

Marceline_x_marshall_lee_by_jennahuskie-d49402a

He’s only been onscreen for about seven minutes, and he’s got more fangirls than Edward Cullen.  I think this vampire has a pretty good future ahead of him.  Even though he’s dead.

So there you have it, my crushes on animated boys with really good hair.  Have you ever found yourself crushing on an animated character?  Or am I the only crazy one?

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

