Posted in Listening to Music, Watching Movies

The Awesome 13 – Disney Songs

I’ve been on a Disney kick lately.  Not sure why…but Disney music has been getting a lot of action on my Pandora app as of late.  I’ve always loved Disney music – it’s sort of inevitable when I was practically raised on Disney movies – and I’m lucky that I have a daughter who shares the same enthusiasm, even if she’s not as familiar with much of the music as I am.

So I decided to see if I could narrow down the extensive Disney music library into a list of 13 songs, aka 13 AWESOME DISNEY SONGS as determined by yours truly.  And here is the result.*

*These songs are from animated movies only.  Disney live action is a whole other topic to be visited at another time, and would probably only consist of songs from Newsies anyway.

13.  “I’ll Make a Man Out of You” – Mulan

199132_1361092059695_full

For some reason it seems that people aren’t as aware of this movie as they should be.  Granted it came out towards the end of Disney’s golden 90s decade of awesomeness, but it’s still a great movie with beautiful animated and good songs.  Like this song in particular.  Sung by the war hero Shang (well, technically it’s sung by Donnie Osmond, which just adds to its awesomeness), Mulan’s sort-of crush who still thinks she’s a boy, it’s a fun song with a fun montage of boys becoming soldiers.  And every good Disney song deserves a good Disney montage.

12.  “Belle” – Beauty and the Beast

Belle_Reprise

This movie already has one of the best prologues of all the Disney movies (gaah…all the stained glass windows!), so why not let it have the best opening song of all the movies!  Beautifully sung by Paige O’Hara, who is also one of the few during the 90s who was able to do both the speaking and singing parts, it gives us a great introduction to who I think is the best Disney heroine EVER.  I mean, come on…she sings about BOOKS.  Not much can compete with that.

11.  “Poor, Unfortunate Souls” – The Little Mermaid

Tlmpe674

Ah, yes.  The One That Started It All.  For many of us in my generation (late 70s to early 80s), this was indeed the movie that got us hooked on Disney animation.  This movie is filled with what are probably my favorite Disney songs (and many of my favorite Disney EVERYTHINGS), but it’s Ursula’s song/lament/proposal for Ariel that always stands out.  Every Disney villain deserves a good song, but this one still gives me the chills because “it’s she who holds her tongue who gets a man”.  Damn, Ursula.

10.  “Some Day My Prince Will Come” – Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

sdmpwc09

What I consider to be Disney’s first hit song, it’s hard to believe that this song is over 75 years old.  And yet it still speaks to millions of girls (and boys, I’m sure) all over the world.  I’m sure there are some women out there who hate this song, who think that women should want more than just some man to save them, but come on, peeps.  That’s not what this song is about.  Snow White is just a young girl wishing for a better life, and that life just happens to include a great guy to share it with.  After 75 years it’s still a beautiful song of hope that also happens to be pretty awesome, too.

9.  “All in the Golden Afternoon” – Alice in Wonderland

videosong

Poor Alice.  It always seems that just because she’s not a princess, she always gets forgotten.  It’s true that the songs in the movie aren’t that memorable.  To most people, that is.  But I’ve personally always loved the song sung by all the flowers after Alice has been shrunk down to the size of a caterpillar.  Yeah, so the flowers aren’t exactly the nicest plants in the world.  A lot of them are actually kind of, well, evil.  But no matter.  I just think the song is fun and a great way to learn about bread-and-butterflies.

8.  “Sing, Sweet Nightingale” – Cinderella

Cinderella196

Ilene Woods, the voice of Cinderella, had a beautiful voice.  It wasn’t the high soprano of Adriana Caselotti’s Snow White – in fact, it seem almost the opposite.  It was lower and richer in tone, but still sounded completely relatable, like Cinderella was a real person.  She sings more than one song in the movie, but her voice sounds best while singing this short melody while cleaning the floor.  There aren’t many words in the song, but she had the kind of voice that didn’t need words to sound great.  Her sound was enough.

7.  “Be Prepared” – The Lion King

1080011_1342786649177_full

The Lion King’s soundtrack was definitely Disney’s biggest endeavor and most popular, thanks to Elton John and all his skillz.  His two songs “Can You Feel the Love Tonight” and “Circle of Life” were huge pop radio hits, but my favorite once again goes to the villain.  Scar, the evil Uncle of Simba and voiced by Jeremy Irons, sings a song that’s so haunting and terrifying that it still kind of scares the crap out of me.  It’s filled with evil lyrics and evil chanting, and with allusions of Hitler weaving themselves throughout, you end up with one hell of a song.

6.  “I Won’t Say (I’m in Love)” – Hercules

500px-I_Won't_Say_I'm_In_Love

Hercules is another one of those Disney movies that gets forgotten because it’s not about a princess.  It’s strong point is its comedy and stylized animation, but it does have one song that I think is brilliant, and it’s the only song that the character Megara (“my friends call me Meg – that is, they would if I had any friends”, another one of my faves) gets to sing.  Meg tries to deny that she has any kinds of feelings for Hercules, but duh, she totally does.  But she tries to sing her way out of it, and the outcome is a song so freaking catchy and groovy that you’ll find yourself hitting repeat on your car stereo more than once.  Or maybe that’s just me.

5.  “Reflection” – Mulan

mulan

Behind every Disney heroine solo lies a cry for help and a secret wish, and “Reflection” is a perfect example of that.  Mulan pretty much sings what every girl – animated or not – feels at least once in her life.  Who am I?  Why am I pretending to be someone I’m not?  Will I ever be able to see my reflection?  Oh wait, that’s what vampires sing about (haha, sorry).  But seriously, this is a beautiful song about confusion and hope that’s beautifully sung by Lea Salonga, but that should come as no surprise because, duh, Lea Salonga.  She’s kind of the unofficial singing voice of everything in my head.

4.  “Once Upon a Dream” – Sleeping Beauty

sleeping-beauty-75

I’ve already admitted that Sleeping Beauty is my favorite Disney animated movie of all time in this post, and one of the contributing factors to that is the music.  The smartest thing Disney did with this movie was take the original ballet music that Tchaikovsky wrote and turn it into their film score.  And when they added lyrics to one of its main theme, you get Aurora’s own song of hope, that her dreams are all she has to go by.  Which, if you think about it, sounds an awful lot like what Cinderella was singing about in this next song…

3.  “A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes” – Cinderella

1110920_1346458986376_full

As I said, dreams and wishes and hope are big amongst all the Disney girls.  And it’s no surprise that Cinderella probably had it worse of all of them.  At least the other girls had, you know, actual people that loved them.  Cinderella?  Not so much.  So the fact that she can be so positive while singing about her dreams is not only the sign of a great person, but a great song as well.  Even if you live with evil people who make you clean the curtains and do the laundry four times a day, it’ll be okay as long as you hold on to your dreams.  And hey, look where Cinderella ended up.  It worked for her, it may work for you, too.

2.  “A Whole New World” – Aladdin

awnw03

I just freaking love this song, I really do.  Seriously, I love every single thing about it.  I love Lea Salonga’s and Brad Kane’s voices.  I love the melody.  I love the lyrics.  I love the magic carpet ride they take us all on.  I just…honesty, I don’t know if words can really describe my feelings for this song.  It also brings back wonderful memories of being 13 years old in the midst of my Disney phase and thinking that Aladdin was the greatest movie ever.  But really, this song is a great example of Disney songwriting at its best.  Also, MAGIC CARPET.

1.  “Part of Your World” – The Little Mermaid

singingariel

Okay, here we are.  Numero uno.  And no surprise, really.  This song proved just how important songs are to Disney films, and how one song can be the best part of a whole movie.  And back in 1989, this song was the most important thing Disney could have done to restart their dominance in film animation.  But all business aside, this song is absolutely perfect.  And it’s still the only Disney song that can bring tears to my eyes.  How many times have I seen this movie?  How many times have I heard this song?  No matter.  When Ariel bravely sings that she’s sick of swimming and ready to stand, I don’t even bother trying to stop the tears.  You don’t have to be a mermaid to want to be part of a human world.  You just have to be a person who wants to be a part of something to understand how Ariel feels, and I think that’s something that we’ve all felt.  Oh, and Jodi Benson, the voice of Ariel?  Ah, man.  It’s just…the feels.  The feels.

Runners-Up Who Didn’t Make It Into the Top 13 But Still Undeniably Awesome:

  • “Just Around the Riverbend” – Pocahontas
  • “Just Can’t Wait to be King” – The Lion King
  • “Kiss the Girl” – The Little Mermaid
  • “When Will My Life Begin” – Tangled
  • “Something There” – Beauty and the Beast
  • “You’ll Be in My Heart” – Tarzan
  • “So This is Love” – Cinderella
  • “My Own Home” – The Jungle Book
  • “You Can Fly, You Can Fly, You Can Fly” – Peter Pan

I should just stop before I end up listing every single Disney song ever written.

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

6 thoughts on “The Awesome 13 – Disney Songs

  1. You’ve nailed them, though I probably won’t agree on anything relating to Alice in Wonderland or Peter Pan. Though when I just rewatched the song from Alice, I remembered how I always thought that white rose queen (?) was SOOOO beautiful.

    I not only have many of the soundtracks on CD, but I have the 5-CD set of the Best of Disney, though I grew up on a tape recording of a record Best of… So, I know all the ones that are in the live action films, as well as the lesser-knowns in the animated movies. How about the opening song from The Rescuers? I’ve always preferred the second Rescuers, but despite always forgetting its name, I love that song.

    I saw The Little Mermaid in theaters when I was 13 or so, and I still remember how I chuckled over the idea of “betcha on land, they understand that they don’t reprimand their daughters”, because I was always arguing with my dad. My cousins and I can STILL sing all the words to most of the 90’s Disney, and more besides… without any accompanying music. And it wasn’t difficult to fall in love with the musical versions, that eventually extended the music. But nothing beats the originals (because the musical of Little Mermaid totally screws up her dad).

    I’ve only seen Hercules once (I think), but I know that song backwards and forwards, and what girl can’t understand the idea of not giving in to a crush or admitting they’re in love? And the song with Scar is even more fun when you do all the voices from the hyenas, who were fabulously funny in that movie.

    When my older brother and I got into our twenties, and still added to our Disney collections of movies, we had to explain over and over to my mom that this was not a love of anything “childish”, this was appreciation for good music, good stories, and awesome movies. Nothing childish about them. A really good film will be something for the kids, and then you can get more and more out of it, when you grow up.

    I need to stop now. You’ve obviously picked a good blog topic, because I could discuss these songs FOREVER. And keep singing them, forever.

    1. It’s refreshing to know that there are other adults out there that appreciate Disney music! I don’t know how familiar I am with songs from live action Disney movies – at the moment the only thing that’s popping into my head is “Let’s Get Together” from The Parent Trap! I may have to do more digging.

      It’s been years and years since I’ve seen The Rescuers, so I can’t remember the opening song. I know it’s on Netflix though, so maybe I’ll try watch it when I get a chance! Don’t think I ever saw Rescuers Down Under….

      1. Well, to start, here’s the Rescuers song… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-DU-64LI8w

        When we were little, I found the lady and the alligators scary in the Rescuers, though I loved the mice. But The Rescuers Down Under went to Australia (before i went, of course), and had Bernard trying to court Bianca… with a cool Aussie in his way. The bad guy was pretty wicked, too, and the eagle… awesome.

        For live action, aside from the obvious Mary Poppins, I grew up loving Pete’s Dragon, and Bedknobs and Broomsticks. The former has Mickey Rooney and Helen Reddy (“Candle on the Water”), but there are both fun AND touching songs in this one. From the hilarious bad guys to Pete and his dragon, and of course, this movie introduced me to Red Buttons. If you haven’t seen it, you need to. Also, I grew up watching The Happiest Millionaire, which stars Fred MacMurray and Lesley Ann Warren, among other Disney bigtime names. I wanted to be in this movie, and what movie would dream about singing about Detroit, nowadays? It’s a little longer than your standard Disney movie, but the characters are wonderful, and I love the music.

        And I still love songs from Summer Magic and a few other movies I’ve never seen or heard of. I grew up singing “The Ugly Bug Ball” and “On the Front Porch”, as sung by Burl Ives, and there’s a song from Summer Magic (I think) about “Dream boys, dream boys, where’s the boy for me?”, which I thought was great on our OLD set…

        Obviously, I could keep going. If your kids haven’t seen them, they will love Pete’s Dragon, Happiest Millionaire, and Bedknobs & Broomsticks (Lansbury and Tomlinson). Still treasures, though forgotten by many… : )

      2. Oh yes, I love Bedknobs and Broomsticks! And Mary Poppins is still one of my favorite movies. I never saw The Happiest Millionaire, but I know one of its songs was on one of my Classic Disney CDs. I think Pete’s Dragon made me sad when I was younger… Then again it’s been about 30 years since I’ve seen it.
        Hmm…I should write a post about my favorite Disney live actions….

Leave a Reply

