Posted in Watching Movies

My National Film Registry Nominations

A while back I wrote about the National Film Registry and all the wonderful movies that had been inducted, particularly thirteen awesome ones.  After learning all about the NFR, I fully intended on submitted my own nominations for 2013.  However, that deadline has unfortunately passed as of September 13, 2013, which means I’ll have to wait until next year to submit my list.

My list of 25 films may change from now until then, but here’s what I have as of today.  Remember, the nominated film must be at least ten years old and be “culturally, historically, or aesthetically important”.  Obviously those factors are determined differently by everyone, but here’s what I think is a pretty awesome list (in alphabetical order).

before_sunriseNominee:  Before Sunrise

Year:  1995

Why:   “Loving someone, and being loved means so much to me.  We always make fun of it and stuff.  But isn’t everything we do in life a way to be loved a little more?”

blair_witch_project_ver3Nominee:  The Blair Witch Project

Year:  1999

Why:  “We walked for 15 hours today, we ended up in the same place!  There’s no one here to help you, THAT’S your motivation!  THAT’S YOUR MOTIVATION!”

the-breakfast-club-1985-hughesNominee:  The Breakfast Club

Year:  1985

Why:  “What we found out is that each of us is a brain…and an athlete…and a basket case…a princess…and a criminal.  Does that answer your question?”

600full-a-charlie-brown-christmas-posterNominee:  A Charlie Brown Christmas

Year:  1965

Why:  “Nobody sent me a Christmas card today.  I almost wish there weren’t a holiday season.  I know nobody likes me.  Why do we have a holiday season to emphasize it?”

cinderellaNominee:  Cinderella

Year:  1950

Why:  “And yet through it all Cinderella remained ever gentle and kind, for with each dawn she found new hope that someday her dreams of happiness would come true.”

clerksNominee:  Clerks

Year:  1994

Why:  “Empire had the better ending.  I mean, Luke gets his hand cut off, finds out Vader’s his father, Han gets frozen and taken away by Boba Fett.  It ends on such a down note.  I mean, that’s what life is, a series of down endings.  All Jedi had was a bunch of Muppets.”

936full-clueless-posterNominee:  Clueless

Year:  1995

Why:  “Miss Stoeger, I would just like to say that physical education in this school is a disgrace.  I mean, standing in line for forty minutes is hardly aerobically effective.  I doubt I’ve worked off the calories in a stick of Carefree gum.”

evildead1Nominee:  The Evil Dead

Year:  1981

Why:  “Soon all of you will be like me…And then who will lock you up in a cellar?”

ferris_buellers_day_offNominee:  Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

Year:  1986

Why:  “What do you mean nothing good?  We’ve seen everything good.  We’ve seen the whole city!  We went to a museum, we saw priceless works of art!  We ate pancreas!”

MPW-18720Nominee:  Field of Dreams

Year:  1989

Why:  “This field, this game: it’s a part of our past, Ray.  It reminds us of all that was once good and it could be again.  Oh…people will come, Ray.  People will most definitely come.”

A70-11370Nominee:  Gladiator

Year:  2000

Why:  “My name is Maximus Decimas Meridius, commander of the Armies of the North, General of the Felix Legions, loyal servant to the true emperor, Marcus Aurelius.  Father to a murdered son, husband to a murdered wife.  And I will have my vengeance, in this life or next.”

grease_xlgNominee:  Grease

Year:  1978

Why:  “Why, this car is Auto-matic.  It’s System-matic.  It’s Hyyyydro-matic.  Why, it’s Greased Lightning!”

jerry-maguire-movie-poster-1996-1020199178Nominee:  Jerry Maguire

Year:  1996

Why:  “I lost the number one draft pick the night before the draft!  Why?  Let’s recap: Because a hockey player’s kid made me feel like a superficial jerk. I ate two slices of bad pizza, went to bed and grew a conscience!”

1993-jurassic-park-poster1Nominee:  Jurassic Park

Year:  1993

Why:  “God creates dinosaurs.  God destroys dinosaurs.  God creates man.  Man destroys God.  Man creates dinosaurs…Dinosaurs eat man.  Woman inherits the earth.”

The-Little-Mermaid-Movie-Poster-the-little-mermaid-18617517-1172-1790Nominee:  The Little Mermaid

Year:  1989

Why:  “If he does kiss you before the sun sets on the third day, you’ll remain human permanently, but if he doesn’t, you turn back into a mermaid and…you belong to me.”

lord_of_the_rings_the_fellowship_of_the_ring_ver4_xlgNominee:  The Lord of the Rings:  Fellowship of the Ring

Year:  2001

Why:  “Do not be too eager to deal out death in judgment.  Even the very wise cannot see all ends.  My heart tells me that Gollum has some part to play yet, for good or ill before this is over.  The pity of Bilbo may rule the fate of many.”

Poster_-_Mary_PoppinsNominee:  Mary Poppins

Year:  1964

Why:  “In every job that must be done, there is an element of fun.  You find the fun, and – SNAP – the job’s a game!”

moulin_rougeNominee:  Moulin Rouge

Year:  2001

Why:  “You may see me only as a drunken, vice-ridden gnome whose friends are just pimps and girls from the brothels.  But I know about art and love, if only because I long for it with every fiber of my being.”

nightmare_before_christmas_ver1Nominee:  The Nightmare Before Christmas

Year:  1993

Why:  “There’s children throwing snowballs instead of throwing heads, they’re busy building toys and absolutely no one’s dead!”

gpxjoE0yvRwIhFEJgNArtKtaN7SNominee:  The Princess Bride

Year:  1987

Why:  “You can’t hurt me.  Westley and I are joined by the bonds of love.  And you cannot track that, not with a thousand bloodhounds, and you cannot break it, not with a thousand swords.”

Saving-Private-Ryan-movie-posterNominee:  Saving Private Ryan

Year:  1998

Why:  “Someday we might look back on this and decide that saving Private Ryan was the one decent thing we were able to pull out of this whole, godawful, shitty mess.”

Shakespeare_In_Love-PosterNominee:  Shakespeare in Love

Year:  1998

Why:  “My story starts at sea…a perilous voyage to an unknown land…a shipwreck…the wild waters roar and heave…the brave vessel is dashed all to pieces, and all the helpless souls within her drown…all save one…it will be a love story, for she will be my heroine for all time.  And her name will be Viola.”

20110513040054!Terminator_2_posterNominee:  Terminator 2: Judgment Day

Year:  1991

Why:  “Of all the would-be fathers that came over the years, this thing, this machine, was the only thing that measured up.  In an insane world, it was the sanest choice.”

when-harry-met-sally-posterNominee:  When Harry Met Sally

Year:  1989

Why:  “I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees out.  I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich…and I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night.”

willy_wonka_and_the_chocolate_factory_xlgNominee:  Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

Year:  1971

Why:  “Candy is dandy, but liquor is quicker.”

So there you have it.  I don’t know when the nominations are announced or the inductees are chosen, but expect it to me sometime early next year.  And then we’ll see how many of my nominations (if any) are chosen!  Until then, what movies would you want to see be inducted?

Author:

I have way too much information floating around in my head, which is why I write things down. I find that books, movies, music, and television are much more interesting than my local news.

Leave a Reply

